Skip navigation

Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences (AHSS)


AHSS Pioneers


We boast 26,000 liberal arts alumni. Stay connected to old friends while forging new ones by attending campus presentations, DU on the Road lectures and other special events.

Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

AHSS Alumni Achievement Awards

We are no longer accepting nominations for the 2016 Alumni Achievement Awards program. The winners will be announced at the annual alumni reception and Livingston Lecture on May 2, 2016. 

Alumni Service to AHSS Award

This award is granted to an AHSS alumnus/a who has made significant contributions to the Arts, Humanities and Social Services at the University of Denver. He/she has offered their time, expertise, enthusiasm and energy to improving liberal arts programming at DU and has helped to preserve and promote AHSS traditions at DU.

Recent Alumni Achievement Award

This award is granted to an AHSS alumnus/a who has graduated within the last 15 years (this year, after 2001). This award recognizes a nominee's professional or personal achievements. This nominee is a growing leader in their field, and priority is given to candidates who have demonstrated creativity or originality in their achievements.

Community Engagement Award

This award is granted to any AHSS alumnus/a who has dedicated him/herself to serving the community, locally or globally. His/her accomplishments have improved or enriched the lives of others. His/her contributions need not be publicly renowned, but should demonstrate creative or original achievements that offer societal or educational value.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is granted to any AHSS alumnus/a who has demonstrated special career or personal achievements. This person is a leader in their field and has made outstanding contributions to their field.

Past Recipients of the Alumni Achievement Awards:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Karambu Ringera (PhD '07, human communications)
  • Community Engagement Award: David Rosenberg (BA '78, psychology, mass communication)
  • Alumni Service to AHSS Award: Amelia Ribnick Kleiman (BA '79, political science, economics)
  • Recent Alumni Achievement Award: Christopher Luther (BM '06, music performance)
  • Alumni Service to AHSS Award: Dr. Edythe Miller (BA '50 and MA '53, economics)
  • Recent Alumni Achievement Award: Mahalia Newmark (BA '08, English)
  • Community Engagement Award: Hannah Seigel Proff (BA '04, English, gender and women’s studies)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Hao Jiang Tian (MA '87, music)
  • Alumni Service to DU Award: (Posthumous) Dave Briggs, BA, political science
  • Recent Alumni Achievement Award: Meghan Doyle, BA '02, political science
  • Community Engagement Award: Elizabeth Kingman, BA '71, speech communication
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Mayor Steve Hogan, BA '70, political science and history

The AHSS Alumni Achievement Awards program was created in 2012 under the AHSS Advisory Board, which offers its experience, expertise and energy to the leadership of the divisions to enrich the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences communities. The award selection committee is made up of AHSS Advisory Board representatives and the dean.

Jan Ballard
Marketing and Events Coordinator