Skip navigation

Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences (AHSS)

Contributing to knowledge



Our research and community and global partnerships give students and faculty the chance to have positive, lasting impacts around the world. 

Contributing to Knowledge

Awards & Grants

AHSS faculty and students are often recognized for their outstanding contributions to education, their fields of research and the community.

Here are some of our most recent achievements

  • Scott Howard, associate professor of English, has received the Donald C. Gallup Fellowship in American literature from the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University. This is a research fellowship that will fund one month of dedicated work on his monograph, Archive and Artifact: Susan Howe's Poetics.
  • Bill Philpott, associate professor in the history department, has been awarded a Spur Award in the Western Nonfiction--Contemporary category for his book Vacationland.
  • Omar Gudino, assistant professor in the department of psychology, has been appointed to the Denver Latino Commission of the Denver City Council.
  • Center for Judaic Studies Professor Jeanne Abrams' recently published book, Revolutionary Medicine: the Founding Fathers and Mothers in Sickness and in Health, made the Top 20 list of bestsellers in the field of American History through the YBP Library Service.
  • Associate Professor Elizabeth Suter (communications studies) earned the 2013 Monograph of the Year Award from the National Communications Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered and Queer Division for her research on lesbian mothers and the societal challenges they face. The study is co-authored by Jody Koenig Kellas of the University of Nebraska.
  • Anita Balakrishnan, junior economics major, received the 2013 Marguerite Casey Foundation Journalism Scholarship Award. Balakrishnan will take an in-depth look at the impact of policy on the poor in Colorado.
  • Seth Masket, associate professor and chair of the political science department, received the 2013 Heinz I. Eulau Award from the American Political Science Association for best article published in the journal Perspectives on Politics during the previous calendar year.