Skip navigation

Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Lamont School of Music

Lamont School of Music

Lamont Society

Lamont Society donations support Lamont School of Music students, faculty and staff. To celebrate your donation, you are invited to attend six exclusive events during the academic year. These events range from faculty recitals and backstage lectures to a day of classes and rehearsals, and a black-tie concert and reception.


Many have asked for the lyrics to the piece by Kim Andre Arnesen that the chorale performed on Thursday at Day at Lamont. The text was found on the wall of a concentration camp following WWII:

"I believe in the sun, even when it's not shining.
I believe in love, even when I feel it not.
I believe in God, even when he is silent."

The Chorale will perform the piece again as part of their concert on Tuesday, November 15 at 7:30 pm. 

2016-2017 Lamont Society Brochure

An Invitation from the Director

Nancy Cochran

Lamont Society donors have made the difference for countless alumni and current students by making it possible for them to attend Lamont and by enriching their experience during their time with us. As a donor, you will be invited to appreciation events such as Day at Lamont and Showcase Lamont, but more importantly, you will support Lamont, a dynamic place with extraordinary people doing exciting things. On a personal note, I can think of no more gratifying position to hold than that of Director of the Lamont School of Music. I hope you will choose to make a gift or to consider increasing your contribution. Thank you for being an important and essential part of the Lamont family!

Nancy Cochran
Director, Lamont School of Music

An invitation from the President

Steve Johnson

When students first arrive at Lamont, they have early plans and aspirations for their future in music. These ideas become refined when Director Nancy Cochran, the faculty and staff provide the education and tools that they need to meet their goals.

Your support of the Lamont Society has a direct influence on students. The funds that we raise help to bring in guest artists for performances, lectures, and master classes; send students to conferences, festivals, and competitions around the country; and produce musical events that would not be possible without our help. Lamont and the students are grateful for this support. It is meaningful, beneficial, and helps them realize their career dreams as alumni.

With sincere thanks,
Steve Johnson
President, Lamont Society

Levels of Giving

2016 – 2017 Academic Year (June – May)

Prelude (individuals only) $60+
Romanza $120+
Overture $250+
Suite $500+
Sonata $1,000+
Concerto $2,000+
Symphony $5,000+
Oratorio $10,000+
Cantata $25,000+
Opera $50,000+

Members are recognized in perpetuity for cumulative gifts to Lamont School of Music above $50,000

The $60 Prelude level is designed for individuals only. Couples may join at the $120 level and above and will be recognized together in listings and invitations.

Donate Now  (put "Lamont Society" in the comment box)

To donate by phone or mail, or receive a Lamont Society brochure, please contact:

Chris Wiger
Director of Public Relations

Lamont Society  2016 - 2017 Academic Year


  • Judi Newman, Honorary Chair
  • Nancy Cochran*, Director, Lamont School of Music
  • Steve Johnson*, President
  • Paul Brooks*, Past President
  • Jan Friedland*, President Elect
  • Mark Barczuk*, Secretary
  • Phyllis Ward, Membership Co-Chair
  • Maradith Wilkins*, Membership Co-Chair
  • Paul Docktor, MD
  • Phyllis Goodman
  • Jennifer Heglin
  • Hilary Johnson
  • Don Leach
  • Michael McGoldrick
  • Keith Pockross
  • Richard Replin
  • Sandra Walling
  • Linda Young
  • Chris Wiger*, Ex-Officio, Director of Public Relations, Lamont School of Music
  • Jennifer Garner*, Ex-Officio, Executive Director of Development, AHSS

            *Executive Committee


  • Andrea Howland Cobb
  • Jane Gibson
  • Barbara Goldburg
  • Bill Stolfus
  • Ann Richardson Stolfus
  • Henry Sanger
  • Joyce Berman Sanger
  • Kathy Eggleston
  • Shirley Smith


  • Dr. Charles and Kathleen Brantigan
  • Lucia B. Cowperthwaite
  • F. Joseph Docksey and Nancy C. Docksey
  • Philippe and Cynthia Dunoyer
  • Edward and Charlotte Estlow*
  • Margot Gilbert Frank
  • Janet and Gary Friedland
  • Barbara Goldburg
  • Dr. María Guajardo
  • C. Stephen Guyer
  • Dave and Peggy Hector
  • Jennifer A. Heglin
  • Andrea Howland Cobb
  • Hilary and Ken Johnson
  • Louisa Craft Jornayvaz
  • Ann C. Levy
  • John and Merry Low
  • Michael McGoldrick
  • Trygve and Victoria Myhren
  • John and Kathleen Ness
  • Robert and Judi Newman
  • Jane M. Quinette
  • Maxwell L. Saul
  • Harvey and Joanne Sender
  • Marlis and Shirley Smith
  • William and Jodi Sorensen
  • John and Marilyn Stoddard
  • Bill Stolfus and Ann Richardson Stolfus
  • Jim and Jenene Stookesberry
  • Hao Jiang Tian and Martha Liao
  • Jeff and Martha Welborn
  • Dr. Robert A. Yekovich