Skip navigation

Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences (AHSS)

news events



Publications and thoughtful commentary showcase the incredible work that comes out of our small liberal arts classrooms, studios and labs.

News and Events

expressions e-Newsletter

Stay connected to the AHSS community through divisional updates, spotlight stories and upcoming events in expressions, AHSS' monthly e-newsletter.

If you haven't received expressions and want to find out what you've been missing, email us at or call 303-871-4449.

This Month's Featured Stories  

Annual AHSS Alumni Reception and Livingston Lecture

Save the Date!

bottaMonday, May 11, 2015
Davis Auditorium, Sturm Hall
2000 E. Asbury Avenue

5:30 p.m. — AHSS alumni reception
6:45 p.m. — Presentation of the annual AHSS Alumni Achievement Awards
7:00 p.m. — Lecture “ One Size Doesn't Fit All: The Importance of Participatory Communication for International Health Development ” Presented by Associate Professor Renee Botta

Return to campus this spring to join us for the free AHSS alumni reception and John C. Livingston Lecture. Connect with AHSS alumni, faculty and students during the reception (complimentary hors d'oeuvres and open bar). Then hear from Renee Botta, associate professor of media, film and journalism studies, about international health development.

Playground equipment that disappears overnight. A new public toilet that no one uses. A vandalized water tank. What do these things have in common?

They are well-meaning projects in the developing world that failed because project leaders from developed nations didn't include local knowledge, ideas and innovations in the planning and decision-making process. At the lecture, learn how participatory communication necessitates local involvement in identifying problems, brainstorming ideas, choosing solutions and implementing health programs.

RSVP today!