Skip navigation

Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Department of Philosophy

Degree Programs

Department of Philosophy

Faculty & Staff

 

FACULTY

  • Jeffrey M. Brown

    Michael Brent

    Assistant Professor
    Metaphysics, philosophy of action, philosophy of mind
    Sturm Hall 260
    Phone: 303-871-7839
    Email: Michael.Brent@du.edu
    more info...

  • Jeffrey M. Brown

    Jeffrey M. Brown

    Postdoctoral Lecturer
    Philosophy of law; social and political philosophy; applied ethics
    Sturm Hall 487F
    Phone: 303-871-2888
    Email: jbrow321@du.edu
    more info...

  • Thomas Nail

    Thomas Nail

    Assistant Professor
    European philosophy; political philosophy; environmental philosophy 
    Sturm Hall 261
    Phone: 303-871-4917
    Email: thomas.nail@du.edu
    more info...

  • Marco J. Nathan

    Marco J. Nathan

    Assistant Professor
    Philosophy of science; philosophy of biology; metaphysics; epistemology
    Sturm Hall 264
    Phone: 303-871-2063
    Email: marco.nathan@du.edu
    more info...

  • Sarah Pessin

    Sarah Pessin

    Associate Professor
    Jewish philosophy; Neoplatonisms; comparative medieval philosophy
    Sturm Hall 265
    Phone: 303-871-7731
    Email: spessin@du.edu
    more info...

  • Naomi Reshotko

    Naomi Reshotko

    Professor
    Ancient Greek philosophy; philosophy of mind; metaphysics; epistemology
    Sturm Hall 489
    Phone: 303-871-2765
    Email: nreshotk@du.edu
    more info...

  • Jere Surber

    Jere Surber

    Professor, Department Chair
    Modern and Contemporary Continental Thought; Philosophy of Culture and Cultural Critique; Metaphilosophy; Aesthetics; Language & Semiotics
    Sturm Hall 263
    Phone: 303-871-2759
    Email: jere.surber@du.edu
    more info...

  • Candace Upton

    Candace Upton

    Associate Professor, Undergraduate Adviser
    Ethical theory; virtue ethics; moral psychology; Greek moral philosophy; philosophy of law; Logic
    Sturm Hall 262
    Phone: 303-871-2761
    Email: cupton@du.edu
    more info...

RETIRED & EMERITUS PROFESSORS

  • William Anderson - Contemporary & analytic philosophy; formal logic
  • Roscoe Hill, Dean & Professor Emeritus
  • Frank Seeburger - Heidegger; phenomenology; existentialism; 20th century continental thought; European philosophy; philosophy of the emotions; feminist theory; addiction studies

STAFF

  • Susie Bachler

    Assistant to the Chair
    Sturm Hall 266
    Phone: 303-871-2063
    Email: philosophy@du.edu