Skip Navigation

English Department

Apply Now
Resources For...

English and Languages and Literatures

Committee for Comparative Literature

Our mission is to encourage and support inter- and multi-disciplinary studies in the Humanities with special emphasis on language and literary studies.  ELL organizes lectures, literary readings, and subsidizes theater visits.

Upcoming Events, Spring 2012:

Dr. OKEY NDIBE will give a talk, "True Stories, Contested Narratives: African and African American Texts in Dialogue," on Wednesday, May 16, at 5 pm, Sturm Hall 491.

Okey Ndibe is a professor of African literature at Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut and a visiting professor of Africana literature at Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island. His novel, Arrows of Rain, is published by Heinemann (UK) in their esteemed African Writers Series. Ndibe also co-edited (with Zimbabwean author Chenjerai Hove) a book titled Writers, Writing on Conflicts and Wars in Africa. He has taught at Connecticut College in New London, Connecticut (where the student newspaper named him one of the college's five outstanding professors), and Simon's Rock College of Bard in Great Barrington, Massachusetts, winning the college's New Faculty Award. During the 2001-2002 year, he was a Fulbright Scholar at the University of Lagos, Nigeria. He was the founding editor of African Commentary, a magazine published in the U.S. by the famous novelist Chinua Achebe.

Recent Events:

Abiola Irele gave a talk Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Abioseh Michael Porter gave a talk February 22

Thomas Lacquer (2010)

William Rasch Lecture (2008)

ELL committee members:

Jan Gorak

jgorak@du.edu

18th- and 20th-Century Literature

Benjamin Kim
benjamin.kim@du.edu
18th- and 19th-Century Literature

Alison Krogel

akrogel@du.edu

Spanish

 

Maik Nwosu
mnwosu@du.edu
World Literature

 

Rachel Walsh
rachel.walsh@du.edu
Italian

Wilfried Wilms
wwilms@du.edu
German