Skip navigation
panoramic view of campus buildings with Center for Multicultural Excellence wording across bottom

LGBTIQA Gala celebration


At the annual LGBTIQ&A celebration Gala, we present the following awards. Nominations are welcome from all DU affiliates.

Past recipients over the years include:

Master of (Gr)Advocacy Award (for graduate students)

Recognizing their role as a LGBTIQ&A educators among graduate students.

Still Struttin' Your Stuff Award (for alumns)

Recognizing contributions to promoting equality for LGBTIQ&A communities post-graduation.

  • 2013 - Leo Kattari (MSW, 2009)
  • 2009 – Dee Galloway (BA English, 2004)
  • 2008 – Hope Wisneski (MSW, 2000)
  • 2007 – Michael Brewer (Law)
Queerific Activist Award

Recognizing LGBTIQ&A leadership in raising awareness and making positive change at DU.

  • 2013 - Anna Sher Simon (Biology faculty) & Fran Simon (see Clarion story)
  • 2008 – Christopher Turner
  • 2008 - Joshua Jackson Robinson
  • 2008 - Carly Schlotterer
A World of Difference Award

This special recognition, given occasionally, recognizes individuals whose presence and leadership have significantly improved the LGBTIQ&A communities and their experiences at DU.

Listed departmental/unit affiliation is as of award date if affiliate is no longer at DU.


To nominate someone for an award, please complete the online form (open winter quarter), or email the following information to

  • Affiliation-appropriate award category above
  • Nominee's name, email address and phone number
  • Paragraph explaining why this award should be given to the nominee
  • Your name, email address and phone number

A committee will review complete nominations and select recipients to be recognized at the Gala itself.