Skip navigation
University of Denver limestone sign with gold lettering

People News

April-May 2013


(May 14, 2013) Erica Chenoweth, an assistant professor at the Josef Korbel School of International Studies, has received a $20,000 advance grant, given by the National Science Foundation to promote scholarship by women. The grant will facilitate Chenoweth's research on the impact of positive rhetoric in reducing terrorist activity.

Read the full story here.


(April 30, 2013) Lynn Gangone, dean of DU's Colorado Women's College, was honored by Colorado Black Women for Political Action (CBWPA) for its second annual "Women Making History" reception in celebration of Women's History Month this March. CBWPA honors Colorado women who have boldly blazed a path of success and selflessly given of their talents and gifts to the community.


(April 30, 2013) Professor Laird Hunt in DU's English Department is one of five winners of the 78th Annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards for his fictional book, Kind One.

Kind One is a haunting novel that explores the uncanny intimacy between slave and master. In understated prose, the story tells of two slave sisters who turn tables on their mistress and take her captive after her Kentucky farmer husband dies. In his sixth book, Laird Hunt spans the period between the 1830s and 1930, and brings fresh imagining to our nation's most difficult subject.

Past winners include five writers who went on to win Nobel prizes – Nadine Gordimer, the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr., Toni Morrison, Wole Soyinka and Derek Walcott.

"The 2013 Anisfield-Wolf winners are exemplars who broaden our vision of race and diversity," said Henry Louis Gates, Jr., who chairs the jury. Cleveland Foundation President and Chief Executive Officer Ronald B. Richard said this year's winners reflect founder Edith Anisfield Wolf's belief in the unifying power of the written word.

"The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards rose from the philanthropic vision of one woman who realized that literature could advance the ongoing dialogue about race, culture, ethnicity, and our shared humanity," Richard said.

About the Anisfield-Wolf Prize

The Anisfield-Wolf winners will be honored in Cleveland Sept. 12 at a ceremony at the Ohio Theatre hosted by the Cleveland Foundation and emceed by Jury Chair Gates. Poet Rita Dove, novelist Joyce Carol Oates, psychologist Steven Pinker, and historian Simon Schama also deliberate on the jury. The Cleveland Foundation has shepherded the book awards since 1963. They remain the only juried American literary competition devoted to recognizing books that have made an important contribution to society's understanding of racism and the diversity of cultures. For additional information, including a complete list of winners, visit

About the Cleveland Foundation

Established in 1914, the Cleveland Foundation is the world's first community foundation and one of the largest today, with assets of $1.86 billion and 2012 grants of $91 million. Through the generosity of donors, the foundation improves the lives of Greater Clevelanders by building community endowment, addressing needs through grant making, and providing leadership on vital issues. The foundation tackles the community's priority areas – economic transformation, public-school improvement, youth development, neighborhood revitalization, and arts advancement – and responds to the community's needs. For more information on the Cleveland Foundation, visit


(April 2, 2013) The Sturm College of Law hosts its 21st Annual Law Stars event at 6 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 22 at the Sheraton Denver Downtown. The Sturm College of Law's premiere fundraising event supports the Student Law Office and Judicial Fellows Program. The event is also a way to honor the achievements of outstanding alumni, professors and recent graduates from Denver Law.

The Outstanding Alumni Award, presented to alumni who have demonstrated professional achievement, humanitarian service and outstanding loyalty to Denver Law, will be given to two recipients. Brothers Michael S. Burg, JD '75, and Peter W. Burg, JD '80, both of Burg, Simpson, Eldredge, Hersh & Jardine, P.C., will share the honor.

The Alumni Professional Award, given to a Denver Law graduate who best exemplifies ethical conduct, professionalism and dedication to community service, will be awarded to John P. Leopold, JD '74, retired district judge and chief judge in Colorado's 18th Judicial District. Leopold currently works for JAMS, a mediation and arbitration company in Denver.

Professor J. Robert Brown, Jr. will be awarded the Robert B. Yegge Excellence in Teaching Award for his outstanding contributions to the legal education mission and for fostering positive relationships within the greater Denver community—and beyond. Brown has been a professor since 1994 and is currently the director of the Corporate and Commercial Law Program.

Lucia C. Padilla, JD '03, of the Sawaya and Miller Law Firm, will be honored with the Bruce B. Johnson Outstanding Young Alumni Award for her ethical and professional conduct and her steadfast commitment to Denver Law's mission.

For more information about DU Law Stars, contact Laura Dean at 303-871-6122 or