Skip navigation
University of Denver sign

January-February 2015

People News

Art Jones receives MLK Peace Award

(Feb. 24, 2015) Art Jones, founder, Spirituals Project, associate dean, Colorado Women’s College, received the MLK Peace Award from Metro State University. The award recognizes leaders who continue King’s legacy through their dedication to social justice and community activism. More

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Gregg Kvistad named TIAA-CREF Fellow

Provost Kvistad(Feb. 17, 2015) The TIAA-CREF Institute Fellows Program is an integral component of the TIAA-CREF Institute. Its purpose is to help the institute carry out its mission to serve as a thought leader and model for knowledge building and public engagement on lifetime financial security, retirement planning and organizational success in higher education and the charitable and public sectors. Institute Fellows are prominent researchers, scholars, policy analysts and senior leaders from higher education and the charitable and public sectors. 




DU-affiliated authors behind a crop of new titles

(Feb. 17, 2015) In a host of books just off the press, members of the University of Denver community share their research passions, storytelling skills and memories. Here’s a roundup of several new titles well worth reading.


Cindy Peña named one of Denver’s Top 25 Most Powerful Women

Cindy Pena(Feb. 3, 2015) Cindy Peña, director of the Latino Leadership Institute at the Daniels College of Business, has been named by the Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce as one of the Top 25 Most Powerful Women in Denver.




Joshua Biller receives Bruker Thesis Prize 2015

(Jan. 27, 2015) Joshua Biller, research scientist in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, received the Bruker Thesis Prize 2015 by the Royal Society of Chemistry. This award recognized outstanding work by PhD students in the field of EPR spectroscopy. Biller has been invited to present at the 48th Annual International Meeting of the ESP Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Chancellor Chopp’s Remaking College named among Phi Beta Kappa’s “Top 14 Books of 2014” list

Remaking College(Jan. 27, 2015) Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most widely known academic honor society, named Chancellor Chopp’s book, Remaking College , to its “Top 14 Books of 2014” from recommendations by Phi Beta Kappa staff and members. 





Dean Hill receives TIME Teddy Award for memoir

Dean Hill(Jan. 20, 2015) Ambassador Christopher R. Hill, dean of the Josef Korbel School of International Studies, received a TIME Teddy Award for his memoir, Outpost , published in 2014. The Teddy Awards, named after Theodore Roosevelt, recognize political courage.





Joseph Labrecque joins Art Heroes Advisory Council

JOSEPH LABRECQUE(Jan. 20, 2015) Joseph Labrecque, senior interactive software engineer, has been invited to serve on the Art Heroes Advisory Council for the Art Heroes creative collective. Art Heroes is an alliance of digital media instructors and students.




Nominate a colleague for the Robin Morgan Outstanding Staff Woman Award

(Jan. 20, 2015) The Robin Morgan Outstanding Staff Woman Award is presented annually by DU’s Women’s Staff Alliance for Networking and Development (WAND) to a staff woman who goes beyond her job responsibilities to advocate for women in the DU community.

Learn more about the award, and nominate a colleague no later than Feb. 13

Retirement Party for Sergeant Stephen Banet

Stephen BanetFriday, Jan. 23, 2 p.m. – Gottesfeld Room, Ritchie Center

Sergeant Stephen (“Steve”) Banet has faithfully served the DU community for 13 years as our crime prevention specialist. We would like to invite the entire community to attend a retirement party for Sergeant Banet on Friday, Jan. 23 at 2 p.m. in the Ritchie Center Gottesfeld Room. 


Robert Whitman elected as AAAS Fellow

(Jan. 13, 2015) Robert Whitman, senior lecturer in electrical and computer engineering at the Daniel Felix Ritchie School of Engineering and Computer Science, has been elected as an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow. AAAS Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.



Martin Katz named among most influential people in legal education

Martin Katz(Jan. 13, 2015) Martin Katz, dean of Sturm College of Law, is ranked fourth in the National Jurist’s “2014 most influential people in legal education.” Last year marked Dean Katz’s first appearance on the list, and this year he moved to the top five.




Celebration of life for Joseph Hornback

Friday, Jan. 9, 4 p.m. – Evans Chapel

(Jan. 6, 2015) Please join us for a celebration of life for Professor Emeritus Joseph Hornback, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Light refreshments to follow in the Renaissance Room of Mary Reed. In lieu of flowers the family has requested donations to a scholarship fund in Joe's memory.

Welcome new Office of the Chancellor employee

Ed Rowe, Director for Projects and Planning

(Jan. 6, 2015) Ed Rowe joined the University of Denver in December as director for projects and planning in the Office of the Chancellor. Ed’s primary responsibility is supporting the University’s strategic planning efforts.