Skip navigation
Degree Programs

Latino Center for Community Engagement and Scholarship

Faculty & Staff

Director

  • Debora Ortega

    Debora Ortega, PhD

    Director, Latino Center for Community Engagement and Scholarship
    Professor, Graduate School of Social Work
    Craig Hall
    2148 High Street
    Denver, Colorado 80208
    Tel.: 303-871-3359
    Email: debora.ortega@du.edu
    Website

Executive Council

  • Salvador Mercado, PhD

    Salvador Mercado, PhD

    Associate Professor, Department of Languages and Literature
    Tel.: 303-871-2184
    Email: smercado@du.edu

  • Oscar Somoza, PhD

    Oscar U. Somoza, PhD

    Professor of Spanish, Department of Languages and Literature
    Tel.: 303-871-2190
    Email: osomoza@du.edu

  • Stephen Von Merz, LCSW

    Stephen von Merz, LCSW

    Clinical Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Social Work
    Tel.: 303-871-4605
    Email: stephen.vonmerz@du.edu
    Website

Core Faculty

  • Miriam Bornstein Gómez, PhD

    Miriam Bornstein Gómez, PhD

    Associate Professor, Department of Languages and Literatures
    Associate Director, DU Latino Center for Community Engagement and Scholarship
    Dept. of Languages and Literatures
    2000 E. Asbury Ave.
    Denver, Colorado 80208
    Tel.: 303-871-2174
    Email: mbornste@du.edu

  • Rafael Fajardo, MFA

    Rafael A. Fajardo, MFA

    Associate Professor, Electronic Media Arts Design (eMAD), Digital Media Studies (DMS), and Game Development
    Tel.: 303-871-3265
    Email: rafael.fajardo@du.edu
    Website

  • Lydia Gil, PhD

    Lydia Gil Keff, PhD

    Teaching Associate of Spanish, Department of Languages and Literatures
    Tel.: 303-871-7844
    Email: lydia.gil@du.edu
    Website

  • Lisa Martinez, PhD

    Lisa M. Martinez, PhD

    Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Criminology
    Tel.: 303-871-2994
    Email: Lisa.Martinez@du.edu

  • Maria del Carmen Salazar, PhD

    Maria del Carmen Salazar, PhD

    Associate Professor, Curriculum and Instruction, Morgridge College of Education
    Tel.: 303-871-3772
    Email: msalazar@du.edu
    Website

Visiting Scholar