Skip navigation

Division of Natural Sciences & MathematicsDepartment of Geography & the Environment

Students

Geography & the Environment

Student Profiles

MA Program

Nicholas Earhart
Taylor Hafley

E-mail: Taylor.Hafley@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2010 BA, Geography & Political Science -Wittenberg University

Research Interests: Urban Geography, Economic Geography, inequality, segregation, housing

Jeffrey Honke

E-mail: Jeffrey.Honke@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 1993 BS, Environmental Studies emphasis in Geography -University of Nebraska at Omaha

Research Interests: Physical Geography Geomorphology, GIS

Meghan Mooney

E-mail: Meghan.Mooney@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2013 BS, Geographic Science- James Madison University

Research Interests: Urban Sustainability, Urban Ecology, Human-Environment Interactions, and Spatial Analysis

Stephen Rijo

E-mail: Steve.Rijo@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2013 BA, Environmental Policy- Colorado College

Research Interests: Urban Geography, Transportation Geography, and the Human Environment Interaction all with a focus on sustainability

Walter Scheib
Aaron Zettler-Mann

E-mail: a.zettlermann@gmail.com

Degrees:

  • 2010 BA, Geography -University of Colorado at Boulder
  • AA, Geography- Cabrillo Community College
  • Certificate in Faculty Preparation- Humboldt State University

MS Program

Zachary Ancona, MS Online
Todd Barr, MS Online
Steven Bixler, MS Online
Rebecca Boyd

E-mail: Rebecca.Boyd@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2012 BS, Environmental Science and Resource Management with a minor in Quantitative Science- University of Washington

Research Interests: GIS in climate related data and climate change

Ashley Burns, MS Online
Kasey Camp, MS Online
Richard Cornell, MS Online
Jean Davidson, MS Online

E-mail: jdavid34@du.edu

John Early, MS Online
Shawn Fleming, MS Online
Nicholas Goates, MS Online
Bryan Gonzales, MS Online
Brandon Hamilton, MS Online
Brandi Hunnicutt, MS Online
Ryan Isherwood
Richard Joseph, MS Online
Matthew Layman

E-mail: Matthew.Layman@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2013 BA, Geography- Virginia Tech

Research Interests: GIS, Web Mapping, Cartography

Nicholas Ludolph, MS Online
Amy L. Maldonado, MS Online

E-mail: amy.maldonado@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 1997 BA, Geography California State University-Chico
James McAndrew
Jennifer Muha, MS Online
Michelle Nichols, MS Online
Jeffrey Orlowski, MS Online
Devon Pace, MS Online

E-mail: dpace4@du.edu

Laura Pernice, MS Online
Christopher Rahm, MS Online
David Richardson, MS Online
Megan Ross, MS Online
Scott Serafin, MS Online
Gerry Shisler, MS Online
Melissa Slater, MS Online
James Smith, MS Online
Jennifer Todd, MS Online
Katrina Waechter
 

PhD Program

Nikolai Alvarado

E-mail: Nikolai.Alvarado@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2013 MA, Geography- University of Denver
  • 2010 BA, Latin American Studies; AA, Liberal Arts  -Cal State Fullerton

Research Interests: Latin America, Human-Environment Interaction

Joshua Baldwin

E-mail: Joshua.C.Baldwin@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • MAG, Master of Applied Geography -New Mexico State University (in progress)
  • 1996 BA, Theatre -Indiana State University

Research Interests: Human-Environment Interactions, GIS and Remote Sensing, Landscape and Political Ecology, Cultural Geography, Conservation

Peter Biven

E-mail:  peter.biven@du.edu

Degrees:

  •  2010 MS, Real Estate & Construction Management University of Denver
  • 2005 MS, Taxation University of Denver
  • 1993 BA, Psychology Arizona State University
  • 1985 BS, Business Adm/BA Psychology Arizona State University

Research Interests: urban economics, GIS, psychology of space, demography

Sylvia Brady

E-mail:  Sylvia.Brady@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2013 MA, Geography- University of Denver
  • 2004 BA, Geography -University of Tennessee

Research Interests: Human-Environment Interaction, Human Geography

John Davis

E-mail: JD.Davis@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2009 BA, Geography -University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
  • 2011 MA, Geography -University of Colorado, Colorado Springs

Research Interests: Sustainability, Biogeography, Latin America

Sharon Gabel

E-mail:  Sharon.Gabel@du.edu

Degrees:

Joseph Hoover

E-mail: joseph.hoover@du.edu Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2009 MA, Geography University of Arizona
  • 2007 BA, Environmental Science Northwestern University

Research Interests: water resources, GIS, environmental policy

Harry A. Katz

E-mail: hkatz4@du.edu Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2010 MA, Geography University of Denver
  • 2008 BA, Geography University of Wisconsin-Madison

Research Interests: fluvial geomorphology, mountain watersheds and water resources, physical geography, hydrology

Benjamin Kreisman

E-mail: benjamin.kreisman@du.edu Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2010 MS, Environmental Science and Public Policy University of Chicago
  • 2006 BA, Environmental Science University of Denver
Gary Lavanchy

E-mail: gary.lavanchy@du.edu Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 1998 BA, Geology, Elementary Education -Wheaton College
  • 2010 MA, Geographical Studies -University of Chicago

Research Interests: Human-environmental interactions, land-use change, political ecology, cultural geography, GIS, Latin America.

Qing Liu

E-mail: qing.liu@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2006 BS, Geographic Information Systems Nanjing Normal University
  • 2009 MS, Geographic Information Science Florida State University, Tallahassee

Research Interests: Human-environmental interactions, remote sensing.

Sarah McCall

E-mail: Sarah.McCall@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2003 BA, Geography, Spanish, Latin American Studies -University of Texas at Austin
  • 2005 MS, Applied Geography -University of North Texas

Research Interests: Human-Environment Interaction, Water Resources, Latin America, International Development

Diego Pons Ganddini
Amir Siraj

E-mail: amir.siraj@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 1993 BSc, Mathematics Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
  • 2009 MA, Climate and Society Columbia University

Research Interests: biogeography, remote sensing

Ian Slayton

E-mail: ian.slayton@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2006 BA, Geography University of Tennessee
  • 2010 MS, Geography University of Tennessee

Research Interests: Paleoenvironment

Anthony Timpson