Skip navigation

Division of Natural Sciences & MathematicsDepartment of Geography & the Environment

Students

Geography & the Environment

Student Profiles

MA Program

Nicholas Earhart
Meghan Mooney

E-mail: Meghan.Mooney@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2013 BS, Geographic Science- James Madison University

Research Interests: Urban Sustainability, Urban Ecology, Human-Environment Interactions, and Spatial Analysis

Stephen Rijo

E-mail: Steve.Rijo@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2013 BA, Environmental Policy- Colorado College

Research Interests: Urban Geography, Transportation Geography, and the Human Environment Interaction all with a focus on sustainability

Walter Scheib
Aaron Zettler-Mann

E-mail: a.zettlermann@gmail.com

Degrees:

  • 2010 BA, Geography -University of Colorado at Boulder
  • AA, Geography- Cabrillo Community College
  • Certificate in Faculty Preparation- Humboldt State University

MS-GISc Program -On Campus

Mollie Doerner
Rebecca Boyd

E-mail: Rebecca.Boyd@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2012 BS, Environmental Science and Resource Management with a minor in Quantitative Science- University of Washington

Research Interests: GIS in climate related data and climate change

Thomas Fogarty
Nicholas Gilroy
Ryan Isherwood
Matthew Layman

E-mail: Matthew.Layman@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2013 BA, Geography- Virginia Tech

Research Interests: GIS, Web Mapping, Cartography

Katrina Waechter

MS-GISc Program -Online

Bradley Atwood, MS Online
Dianne Bangle, MS Online
Todd Barr, MS Online
Steven Bixler, MS Online
Esther Bowlin, MS Online
Trafford Brown, MS Online
Kirk Bustrom, MS Online
Kasey Camp, MS Online
Jackie Contreras, MS Online
Richard Cornell, MS Online
John Early, MS Online
Ryan Ferriman, MS Online
Shawn Fleming, MS Online
Bryan Franey, MS Online
Benjamin Glennon, MS Online
Nicholas Goates, MS Online
Bryan Gonzales, MS Online
Grace Gregg, MS Online
Brandon Hamilton, MS Online
Monica Hanson, MS Online
Brandi Hunnicutt, MS Online
Jennifer Joern, MS Online
Eric Jones, MS Online
Bryn Karabensh, MS Online
Hannah Lewis, MS Online
Nicholas Ludolph, MS Online
Michael Mitchell, MS Online
Jennifer Muha, MS Online
Michelle Nichols, MS Online
Jeffrey Orlowski, MS Online
Devon Pace, MS Online

E-mail: dpace4@du.edu

Leslie Perry, MS Online
Christopher Rahm, MS Online
David Richardson, MS Online
Scott Serafin, MS Online
Erin Sevatson, MS Online
Gerry Shisler, MS Online
Melissa Slater, MS Online
Gerry Smith, MS Online
James Smith, MS Online
Everett Thompson, MS Online
Joshua Vosejpka, MS Online
Derek Watson, MS Online
James White, MS Online

PhD Program

Nikolai Alvarado

E-mail: Nikolai.Alvarado@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2013 MA, Geography- University of Denver
  • 2010 BA, Latin American Studies; AA, Liberal Arts  -Cal State Fullerton

Research Interests: Latin America, Human-Environment Interaction

Joshua Baldwin

E-mail: Joshua.C.Baldwin@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • MAG, Master of Applied Geography -New Mexico State University (in progress)
  • 1996 BA, Theatre -Indiana State University

Research Interests: Human-Environment Interactions, GIS and Remote Sensing, Landscape and Political Ecology, Cultural Geography, Conservation

Peter Biven

E-mail:  peter.biven@du.edu

Degrees:

  •  2010 MS, Real Estate & Construction Management University of Denver
  • 2005 MS, Taxation University of Denver
  • 1993 BA, Psychology Arizona State University
  • 1985 BS, Business Adm/BA Psychology Arizona State University

Research Interests: urban economics, GIS, psychology of space, demography

Sylvia Brady

E-mail:  Sylvia.Brady@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2013 MA, Geography- University of Denver
  • 2004 BA, Geography -University of Tennessee

Research Interests: Human-Environment Interaction, Human Geography

John Davis

E-mail: JD.Davis@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2009 BA, Geography -University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
  • 2011 MA, Geography -University of Colorado, Colorado Springs

Research Interests: Sustainability, Biogeography, Latin America

Harry A. Katz

E-mail: hkatz4@du.edu Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2010 MA, Geography University of Denver
  • 2008 BA, Geography University of Wisconsin-Madison

Research Interests: fluvial geomorphology, mountain watersheds and water resources, physical geography, hydrology

Benjamin Kreisman

E-mail: benjamin.kreisman@du.edu Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2010 MS, Environmental Science and Public Policy University of Chicago
  • 2006 BA, Environmental Science University of Denver
Gary Lavanchy

E-mail: gary.lavanchy@du.edu Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 1998 BA, Geology, Elementary Education -Wheaton College
  • 2010 MA, Geographical Studies -University of Chicago

Research Interests: Human-environmental interactions, land-use change, political ecology, cultural geography, GIS, Latin America.

Qing Liu

E-mail: qing.liu@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2006 BS, Geographic Information Systems Nanjing Normal University
  • 2009 MS, Geographic Information Science Florida State University, Tallahassee

Research Interests: Human-environmental interactions, remote sensing.

Sarah McCall

E-mail: Sarah.McCall@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2003 BA, Geography, Spanish, Latin American Studies -University of Texas at Austin
  • 2005 MS, Applied Geography -University of North Texas

Research Interests: Human-Environment Interaction, Water Resources, Latin America, International Development

Diego Pons Ganddini
Amir Siraj

E-mail: amir.siraj@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 1993 BSc, Mathematics Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
  • 2009 MA, Climate and Society Columbia University

Research Interests: biogeography, remote sensing

Ian Slayton

E-mail: ian.slayton@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2006 BA, Geography University of Tennessee
  • 2010 MS, Geography University of Tennessee

Research Interests: Paleoenvironment

Anthony Timpson