Skip navigation

Division of Natural Sciences & MathematicsDepartment of Geography & the Environment

Students

Geography & the Environment

Student Profiles

MA Program

Sydney Firmin

E-mail: Sydney.Firmin@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2014 BA, Environmental Studies- Gustavus Adolphus College

Research Interests: GIS and Environmental Economics

Corey Martz

E-mail: Corey.Martz@du.edu Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2012 BA, Geography, University of Missouri - Columbia

Research Interests: Geography Education, Place-based Learning, Human-Environment Interactions

Emilio Mateo

E-mail: Emilio.Mateo@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2014 BS, Environmental Science, Minor: Applied Statistics - University of Michigan

Research Interests: Hydrology, Geomorphology, Glacier Change and Processes, Climate-Cryosphere Interactions

Personal Page

Blaise Murphy

E-mail: Blaise.Murphy@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2012 BA, Anthropology -University of Chicago

Research Interests: Soils, Agriculture, Environmental Change, Human-Environment Interactions

Natalie Trivino

E-mail: Natalie.Trivino@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2016 BA -Geography, B.F.A. -Studio Art -University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: Geomorphology and Natural Hazards

Danny Zimny-Schmitt

MS-GISc Program -On Campus

Laura Atkinson
Marta Blanco-Castano
Matthew Casali

E-mail: Matthew.Casali@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2010 BS, Physical Geography with a minor in GIS, Elmhurst College

Research Interests: Remote Sensing, GIS, and Climatology

Jennifer Clark
Ryan Keeney

E-mail: Ryan.Keeney@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2015 BA, Geography, GIS Certificate, Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis

Research Interests: Urban Morphology, Sustainable Transportation, GIS, Walkability, Transit Oriented Development

Madeline Kelley

MS-GISc Program -Online

Bradley Atwood, MS Online
Adam Barley, MS Online
Daniel Conran, MS Online
Ashley Contreras Rule, MS Online
Sandor Coscia, MS Online
Joshua Cox, MS Online
Charles Dostal, MS Online
Michael Dunnington, MS Online
Benjamin Everette, MS Online
Joshua Failing, MS Online
Ryan Ferriman, MS Online
Patrick Fitts, MS Online
Shawn Fleming, MS Online
Edward Flynn, MS Online
Brittany Franzen, MS Online
Lisa French, MS Online
Grace Gregg, MS Online
Frederick Haggett, MS Online
Brandon Hamilton, MS Online
Benjamin Hoskins, MS Online
Kristin Judy, MS Online
Hannah Lewis, MS Online
Sean Lacey, MS Online
Alexander Miller, MS Online
Michael O'Konski, MS Online
Jaclyn Phipps, MS Online
Erik Potter, MS Online
Christopher Rahm, MS Online
Joseph Rhodes, MS Online
David Richardson, MS Online
Kerri-Ann Rose, MS Online
Ethan Schaecher, MS Online
Gerry Shisler, MS Online
Russell Strom-Olsen, MS Online
Hilary Swan, MS Online
Everett Thompson, MS Online
Linda Vier, MS Online
Brian Wessner, MS Online

PhD Program

Nikolai Alvarado

E-mail: Nikolai.Alvarado@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2013 MA, Geography- University of Denver
  • 2010 BA, Latin American Studies; AA, Liberal Arts  -Cal State Fullerton

Research Interests: Latin America, Human-Environment Interaction

Joshua Baldwin

E-mail: Joshua.C.Baldwin@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2014 MAG, Master of Applied Geography -New Mexico State University
  • 1996 BA, Theatre -Indiana State University

Research Interests: Human-Environment Interactions, GIS and Remote Sensing, Landscape and Political Ecology, Cultural Geography, Conservation

Peter Biven

E-mail:  peter.biven@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2010 MS, Real Estate & Construction Management University of Denver
  • 2005 MS, Taxation University of Denver
  • 1993 BA, Psychology Arizona State University
  • 1985 BS, Business Adm/BA Psychology Arizona State University

Research Interests: urban economics, GIS, psychology of space, demography

Sylvia Brady

E-mail:  Sylvia.Brady@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2013 MA, Geography- University of Denver
  • 2004 BA, Geography -University of Tennessee

Research Interests: Human-Environment Interaction, Human Geography

John Davis

E-mail: JD.Davis@du.edu  Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2009 BA, Geography -University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
  • 2011 MA, Geography -University of Colorado, Colorado Springs

Research Interests: Sustainability, Biogeography, Latin America

Shannon Jones
Benjamin Kreisman

E-mail: benjamin.kreisman@du.edu Personal Page

Degrees:

  • 2010 MS, Environmental Science and Public Policy University of Chicago
  • 2006 BA, Environmental Science University of Denver
Danielle Langworthy
Qing Liu

E-mail: qing.liu@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2006 BS, Geographic Information Systems Nanjing Normal University
  • 2009 MS, Geographic Information Science Florida State University, Tallahassee

Research Interests: Human-environmental interactions, remote sensing.

Sarah McCall

E-mail: Sarah.McCall@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2003 BA, Geography, Spanish, Latin American Studies -University of Texas at Austin
  • 2005 MS, Applied Geography -University of North Texas

Research Interests: Human-Environment Interaction, Water Resources, Latin America, International Development

Danielle Nagle
Diego Pons Ganddini
Ian Slayton

E-mail: ian.slayton@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2006 BA, Geography University of Tennessee
  • 2010 MS, Geography University of Tennessee

Research Interests: Paleoenvironment, Climate Change, Fire History, and Biogeography

Anna Sveinsdottir
Anthony Timpson

E-mail: Anthony.Timpson@du.edu

Degrees:

  • 2006 BA, Geography/Environmental Systems, University of Colorado
  • 2012 MS, Geographic Information Science, University of Denver

Research Interests: Computational Geovisual Analytics

Xuantong Wang