Skip navigation

Division of Natural Sciences & MathematicsDepartment of Mathematics

Faculty & Staff

Mathematics

Faculty & Staff

Below is a directory of all faculty and staff of the Department of Mathematics as of Fall 2014.

Scroll to: Faculty, Emeritus Faculty, Staff.

See also the listing of recent visitors to the department, mailing groups for convenient distribution of emails, departmental photographs (mostly historical), and the mathematical genealogy of the faculty.

Although we do our best to keep the directory up to date, if you run into problems, try the DU directory.

 

Faculty

  • Lori Alvin

    Postdoctoral Scholar
    PhD 2011 (Wisconsin, Milwaukee)
    Office: Aspen Central 716B
    Email: loribeth.alvin@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3138

    Research interest: Dynamical systems, topological dynamics, symbolic dynamics.
  • Alvaro Arias

    Professor and Math Center Coordinator
    PhD 1989 (Texas A&M)
    Office: Aspen Central 714B
    Email: aarias@math.du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3559

    Research interest: Functional analysis.
  • Natasha Dobrinen

    Associate Professor
    PhD 2001 (Minnesota)
    Office: Aspen Central 722B
    Email: ndobrine@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-2120

    Research interest: Set theory, Boolean algebras, mathematical logic, foundations of mathematics.
  • Jeff Farmer

    Research Professor
    PhD 1992 (Texas A&M)
    Office: Aspen North 709B
    Email: jdfarmer89@hotmail.com
    Phone: 303-871-2130

    Research interest: Mathematical education, functional analysis.
  • Kelly Flaherty

    Lecturer
    PhD 2003 (Kansas)
    Office: Aspen Central 719B
    Email: Kelly.Flaherty@du.edu
    Phone: 303-871-XXXX

    Research interest: Mathematics education
  • Nikolaos Galatos

    Associate Professor
    PhD 2003 (Vanderbilt)
    Office: Aspen Central 723C
    Email: ngalatos@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3581

    Research interest: Lattice theory, ordered algebras, mathematical logic.
  • John Griesmer

    Lecturer
    PhD 2009 (Ohio State)
    Office: Aspen Central 723B
    Email: John.Griesmer@du.edu
    Phone: 303-871-2130

    Research interest: Ergodic theory, additive combinatorics and harmonic analysis.
  • Shengwei Han

    Visiting Research Scholar
    PhD 2008 (Shaanxi Normal University)
    Office: Aspen North 710
    Email: hansw@snnu.edu.cn
    Research interest: Universal algebra, residuated lattices, and category theory.
  • Paul Horn

    Assistant Professor
    PhD 2009 (California, San Diego)
    Office: Aspen Central 713C
    Email: paul.horn@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3095

    Research interest: Spectral graph theory, probabilistic combinatorics, random graphs, percolation and stochastic processes on finite graphs.
  • Michael K. Kinyon

    Professor and Graduate Coordinator
    PhD 1991 (Utah)
    Office: Aspen Central 721C
    Email: mkinyon@math.du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3288

    Research interest: Nonassociative structures, loops, quasigroups, history of mathematics.
  • Frédéric Latrémolière

    Associate Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator
    PhD 2004 (Berkeley)
    Office: Aspen Central 719C
    Email: frederic@math.du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-2803

    Research interest: Functional analysis, C*-algebras, noncommutative geometry, C*-dynamics.
  • Andrew Linshaw

    Assistant Professor
    PhD 2005 (Brandeis)
    Office: Aspen Central 721B
    Email: Andrew.Linshaw@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-2802

    Research interest: Representation theory, invariant theory, vertex algebras and infinite-dimensional Lie algebras.
  • Mario A. Lopez

    John Evans Professor, courtesy appointment at Math
    PhD 1991 (Minnesota)
    Office: Aspen North
    Email: mlopez@cs.du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3287

    Research interest: Computational geometry, algorithms, geographic information systems.
  • Jose G. Mijares

    Postdoctoral Scholar
    PhD 2007 (Central University of Venezuela)
    Office: Aspen Central 722A
    Email: Jose.MijaresPalacios@du.edu
    Phone: 303-871-4213

    Research interest: Set theory, Ramsey theory, topological dynamics, combinatorics, functional analysis.
  • Nicholas Ormes

    Associate Professor
    PhD 1997 (Maryland)
    Office: Aspen Central 715B
    Email: normes@math.du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3325

    Research interest: Dynamical systems, ergodic theory, topology.
  • Ronnie Pavlov

    Associate Professor
    PhD 2007 (Ohio State)
    Office: Aspen Central 715C
    Email: rpavlov@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-4001

    Research interest: Dynamical systems, ergodic theory, symbolic dynamics.
  • Allegra Reiber

    Lecturer and Credit Transfer Specialist
    M.S. 2006 (Notre Dame)
    Office: Aspen Central 720B
    Email: areiber@du.edu
    Phone: 303-871-2807

    Research interest: Algebraic topology, algebraic (Waldhausen) k-theory, homotopy theory, mathematics education.
  • Frank Schroeck

    Research Professor
    PhD 1971 (Rochester)
    Office: Aspen Central 724A
    Email: fschroec@du.edu
    Phone: 303-871-3064

    Research interest: Group theory, functional analysis, mathematical physics, foundations of quantum mechanics, quantum mechanics on phase space, quantum structures.
  • Florian Sobieczky

    Lecturer
    PhD 2004 (University of Gottingen, Germany)
    Office: Aspen Central 724B
    Email: florian.sobieczky@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-4139

    Research interest: Heat kernel estimates, random walks, percolation, structure theory of graphs, random graphs, stationary determinental processes, queueing theory.
  • Izabella Stuhl

    Postdoctoral Scholar
    PhD 2010 (University of Debrecen)
    Office: Aspen North 709B
    Email: izabella.stuhl@du.edu
    Phone: 303-871-XXXX

    Research interest: Non-associative algebraic structures and applications.
  • Petr Vojtěchovský

    Professor and Chair
    PhD 2001 (Iowa State), PhD 2003 (Charles Univ. Prague)
    Office: Aspen Central 717C
    Email: petr@math.du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3314

    Research interest: Loops, quasigroups, latin squares, nonassociative algebra, computational algebra, computational geometry.
  • Mei Yin


    Assistant Professor
    PhD 2010 (Arizona)
    Office: Aspen Central 713B
    Email: mei.yin@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-XXXX

    Research interest: Phase transitions, random graphs, lattice spin systems, cluster expansions, renormalization and spectral theory.

 

Emeritus Faculty

  • Richard N. Ball

    Professor Emeritus
    PhD 1974 (Wisconsin)
    Office: Aspen North 710A
    Email: rball@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3294

    Research interest: Algebra and topology, combinatorics, topological dynamics, stability and complexity.
  • Joel S. Cohen

    Professor Emeritus
    PhD 1970 (Maryland)
    Office: Aspen North 709B
    Email: jscohen@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3292

    Research interest: Computer algebra and symbolic computation, mathematics and music, history of mathematics.
  • William S. Dorn

    Professor Emeritus
    PhD 1955 (Carnegie Inst. of Technology)
    Office: SGM 130
    Email: wdorn@cs.du.edu

    Research interest: Mathematics for humanities and social science students, preparing science student for entrance into the 'real world', writing in mathematics/computing courses, simplifying web site design, handicapped access to web sites.
  • Stanley Gudder

    John Evans Professor Emeritus
    PhD 1964 (Illinois)
    Email: sgudder@math.du.edu
    Website

    Research interest: Functional analysis, mathematical physics, foundations of quantum mechanics, probability theory.

  • James N. Hagler

    Professor Emeritus
    PhD 1972 (Berkeley)
    Office: Aspen North 710B
    Email: jhagler@math.du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3310

    Research interest: Functional analysis, topological dynamics, hereditarily indecomposable continua.
  • Jean-Paul Marchand

    Professor Emeritus
    PhD (Institute of Theoretical Physics, Geneva)
  • Alayne Parson

    Professor Emerita
    PhD (Illinois at Chicago)
    Email: alayne.parson@gmail.com
    Research interest: Automorphic functions, complex analysis, number theory.
  • Ottis W. Rechard

    Professor Emeritus
    PhD 1948 (Wisconsin)
    Email: orechard@cs.du.edu

    Research interest: Computer systems, algorithms, numerical analysis.
 

Staff

  • Liane Beights

    Assistant to the Chair
    Office: Aspen Central 717B
    Email: lbeights@math.du.edu
    Phone: 303-871-3344
  • Jason Myers

    Faculty/Staff Support Specialist & Operations Coordinator
    PhD 2010 (Loyola University Chicago)
    Office: Aspen Central 718B
    Email: jason.myers@du.edu
    Website
    Phone: 303-871-3072

    Research interests : Modern Ireland, First World War, memory and commemoration.