Skip navigation

Division of Natural Sciences & MathematicsDepartment of Physics & Astronomy

Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff Directory

Faculty

Robert Amme, Research Professor, condensed matter physics | Physics 215 | (303) 871-3852 | robert.amme@du.edu
Research Interest: Granular particle physics and the compaction of granular materials. 

Davor Balzar, Associate Professor and Chair, condensed matter physics | Physics 210 | (303) 871-2137 |  davor.balzar@du.edu
Research Interest: Studies of materials' properties by diffraction methods. Research Site

Maria Mercedes Calbi, Associate Professor, condensed matter physics | Physics 104 | (303) 871-3547 | maria.calbi@du.edu
Research Interest: Computational method to study surface physics, especially focused on adsorption processes. Research Site

Sophia Cisneros, Assistant Teaching Professor | Physics 106 | (303) 871-3455 | sophia.cisneros@du.edu

Xin Fan, Assistant Professor, condensed matter physics | Physics 307 | (303) 871-2783 | xin.fan@du.edu
Research Interest: Spintronics and Magnetic properties of nano-scale materials. Research Site

Kingshuk Ghosh, Associate Professor, biophysics | Physics 309 | (303) 871-6695 | kingshuk.ghosh@du.edu
Research Interest: Theoretical and computation models to understand physical biology: protein folding, gene networks and evolution. Research Site

Jennifer L. Hoffman, Associate Professor, astrophysics | Physics 209 | (303) 871-2268 | jennifer.hoffman@du.edu
Research Interest: Massive binary stars, circumstellar material, core-collapse supernovae, spectropolarimetry, polarized radiative transfer modeling. Research Site

Steven Iona, Associate Teaching Professor | Physics 206 | (303) 871-2873 | steven.iona@du.edu
Research Interest: Teacher preparation and student conceptual development specifically of physics topics.

Dinah Loerke, Associate Professor, biophysics | Physics 304 | (303) 871-3506 | dinah.loerke@du.edu
Research Interest: Quantitative biophysical approaches to experimental cell biology. Research Site

Jonathan Ormes, Research Professor, astrophysics | Physics 206 | (303) 871-3552 | jonathan.ormes@du.edu

Mark Siemens, Associate Professor, condensed matter physics | Physics 113 | 303-871-3541 |  mark.siemens@du.edu
Research Interest: Using light-matter interactions to control and measure electron and phonon transport in nanostructures. Research Site

Robert Stencel, Professor and Womble Chair, astrophysics | Physics 409 | (303) 871-2135 | robert.stencel@du.edu
Research Interest: Stellar evolution and infrared instrumentation. Research Site

Toshiya Ueta, Associate Professor, astrophysics | Physics 407 | (303) 871-3523 | toshiya.ueta@du.edu
Research Interest: Observational Astronomy (multi-wavelength from optical, near/mid/far-IR, sub-mm to radio), Stellar Evolution (Late Type Stars: AGB stars, Proto-Planetary Nebulae, Planetary Nebulae), Stellar Mass Loss, Circumstellar Shells, Circumstellar-Interstellar Interactions, Astronomical Dust, and Radiative Transfer Modeling.  Research Site

Barry Zink, Associate Professor, condensed matter physics | Physics 404 | (303) 871-3025 | barry.zink@du.edu
Research Interest: Uses micro- and nanofabrication techniques to control and measure the thermal, magnetic and electronic properties of systems to study the fundamental physics of new materials and apply this knowledge for new technologies. Research Site

Staff

Peter Hallam, Laboratory Manager | Physics 204 | (303) 871-4346 | peter.hallam@du.edu

Barbara Stephen, Assistant to Chair | Physics 211 | (303) 871-2238 | barbara.stephen@du.edu

Affiliated Faculty 

Aleksej Mialitsin, Adjunct Professor | aleksej.mialitsin@du.edu

Ron Mickle, Adjunct Professor | ronald.mickle@du.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Ronald Blatherwick, Associate Research Professor Emeritus

Aharon Goldman, Professor Emeritus

Herschel Neumann, Professor Emeritus

John Olson, Associate Research Professor Emeritus

Alwyn van der Merwe, Professor Emeritus

Bert Van Zyl, Research Professor Emeritus

W. John Williams, Research Professor Emeritus