Skip navigation

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

News & Events

News Archive


Dan Linseman (Biological Sciences) highlighted for his collaboration with students in researching ALS and Alzheimer’s (2/13/17)

Led by Linseman, a team of undergraduate and graduate researchers is trying to determine how nutraceuticals — food components used for medicinal purposes — might protect the neurons in the brain that underlie neurodegenerative diseases. More: DU Undergrads Tackle Real-World Problems (DU Newsroom)

Second Annual NSM Chili Cook-Off Winners! (1/27/17)

Congrats to all winners at the Second Annual NSM Chili Cook-Off! After thorough taste-testing and deliberation by participants, this year’s champions are as follows:

Vegetarian Mild – Jennifer Mitchell (Biological Sciences)
Vegetarian Spicy – Nancy Sasaki (Dean’s Office)
Meaty Mild – Karen Escobar (Dean’s Office)
Meaty Spicy – Keith Miller (Chemistry & Biochemistry)

Thanks to all chefs and tasters for participating!

Scott Barbee (Biological Sciences) presents at Brain Rounds lecture (1/27/17)

On January 27, Scott Barbee (Biological Sciences) explained why we use fruit flies to study genetic disorders in people at the "Brain Rounds" monthly lecture in translational science sponsored by DU's Center for Professional Development. More about Brain Rounds.

Dave Patterson (Biological Sciences) named Fellow of AAAS (12/13/16)

Dave Patterson, whose research has contributed to our understanding of Down syndrome, Alzheimer’s disease, cancer and more, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. More: DU Professor Receives Prestigious Award (DU Newsroom)

2016 NSM Annual Awards Ceremony (12/2/16)

Congrats to Natasha Dobrinen, Eric Boschmann, Nic Ormes, Mei Yin, and Randi Flageolle! NSM faculty and staff gathered at the Fritz Knoebel School of Hospitality on December 1 to recognize another year of outstanding accomplishments, while enjoying great food and a live jazz band. Read summaries from the winners' nominations below.

Research Award - Natasha Dobrinen (Mathematics)

Natasha has had a remarkable research year. Her NSF grant was just renewed for another three years, and she spent much of the fall 2015 quarter as an invited fellow at the Isaac Newton Institute at the University of Cambridge. In 2016, she had four papers published, all in top journals. She has two more papers currently accepted, and has submitted another with her postdoc, Dan Hathaway. In addition, Natasha has given nine invited addresses at major conferences in her field over the course of the year. She also serves as a research mentor.

Teaching Award - Eric Boschmann (Geography & the Environment)

Eric devotes tremendous time and talent to being an excellent teacher. Last year he developed a new travel course on the urban geographies of New York City, added a separate graduate student meeting to his urban landscapes course, and created new lab exercises for several geography courses. He receives top scores on his course evaluations, earns repeated praise from students, and is actively involved in advising and mentoring. Students describe him as an effective communicator who is knowledgeable and passionate about the course material.

Faculty Service Award - Nic Ormes (Mathematics)

Nic continues to be a model of how to balance service at all levels, from the departmental to the public. He serves as faculty advisor for the Math Cub and the Mortar Board Society, as chair of the NSM Faculty Committee, and as the Math Department’s Undergraduate Coordinator. He belongs to the NSMentoring Program's advisory group and served on the Academic Diversity Council. Nic is also the local liaison for Math Counts, a middle school math competition hosted at DU. He volunteers at the Julia Robinson Math Festival and coaches the Math Team and Lego Robotics Team at Willow Creek Elementary.

Junior Faculty Award - Mei Yin (Mathematics)

Mei has had an excellent year. Her research continues to be supported by her NSF grant. She has published two papers in excellent journals, has three more accepted, and has one submitted. She gave seven invited presentations at various meetings and colloquia. She is co-PI on a major conference grant. Mei co-sponsors the DU chapter of the Association for Women in Mathematics. She sits on the department’s Graduate Committee and Howe Lectureship committee, and serves as a mentor for the NSMentoring Program.

Staff Service Award - Randi Flageolle (Biological Sciences)

Randi is absolutely essential to the functioning of the Department of Biological Sciences. In addition to her many duties to keep one of the largest academic departments on campus operating, she is always willing to help any student, faculty or staff member who walks into the department. From organizing the holiday party and chili cook-off to the pie contest, Randi loves to bring together faculty and students at events where there is always laughter and sharing. Her understanding of how to wrestle information out of Banner as well as out of stubborn faculty is second to none! She is truly the glue which holds the department together.


Math Counts Competition Series

  • March 18, State Competition, DU Sturm Hall
  • Contact Nic Ormes for more info.

DU Founders Forum 

  • March 1, Margery Reed Reiman Theater, 5:30 p.m.
  • featuring Barry Zink (Physics & Astronomy) and Robin Tinghitella (Biological Sciences)
  • More info

NSM Community Sporting  Events

  • March 4: Gymnastics at 6:00 p.m.

Frank Laird Seminar on Science Policy

  • April 20, Olin 205, 4:00 p.m.

Dale Tooley Cancer Research Lecture - Dr. Dan Theodorescu (CU-Anschutz)

  • May 3, ECS Fifth Floor, 4:00 p.m.

Please check the following links for departmental events: