Skip navigation

Student Life

Religious & Spiritual Life

  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • Pause Play

Religious & Spiritual Life

Holy Days With Restrictions/Obligations

For the 2016-2017 Academic Year

An asterisk (*) indicates that the observance begins at sundown the prior evening

September

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Thursday, September 1 | First Parkash | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Monday, September 5 | Ganesh Chaturthi | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, September 6 | Paryushana-Parva ends | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, September 6 | Samvatsan | Jainism | Food Restriction - Special Worship
  • Tuesday, September 6 | Dashalakshani-parva begins | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, September 7 | Birth date of H.H. Sakya Trizin | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, September 7 | 'Izzat | Baha'i | Special Worship
  • Friday, September 9 | Auditor's Day | Scientology
  • Sunday, September 11 | Day of Hajj | Islam | Special Worship*
  • Monday, September 12 | Anniversary of the Tatsunokuchi Persecution | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Monday, September 12 | 'Id al-Adhá | Islam | Special Worship*
  • Monday, September 12 | Ghambar Paitishem begins | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Thursday, September 15 | Ananta-chaturdasi | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Friday, September 16 | Ksamavani | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Friday, September 16 | Dashalakshani-parva ends | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Friday, September 16 | Ghambar Paitishem ends | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Monday, September 19 | Festival of Higan-e | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Thursday, September 22 | Eihei Dogen Kigen Memorial | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Thursday, September 22 | Shubun-no-hi | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Thursday, September 22 | Mabon | Wicca | Special Worship
  • Monday, September 26 | Mashíyyat | Bahá'í | Special Worship
October

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Saturday, October 1 | Navaratri begins | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 2 | World Communion Sunday | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 2 | First of Muharram | Islam | Special Worship*
  • Sunday, October 2 | Eve of Rosh Hashanah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 2 | Mehragan International Day of Non-Violence | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Monday, October 3 | Rosh Hashanah | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 4 | Rosh Hashanah | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Wednesday, October 5 | Bodhidharma Memorial | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Friday, October 7 | International Association of Scientologists Day | Scientology | Special Worship
  • Saturday, October 8 | Aymbil Ori | Jainism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Monday, October 10 | Navaratri ends | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 11 | Dassehra | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 11 | 'Ashura | Islam | Special Worship*
  • Tuesday, October 11 | Eve of Yom Kippur | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Wednesday, October 12 | Yom Kippur | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Wednesday, October 12 | Ghambar Ayathrem begins | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Thursday, October 13 | Nichiren Shonin Memorial | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, October 15 | 'Ilm | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 16 | Pavarana | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 16 | Atmasiddhi Rachna Divas | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 16 | Eve of Sukkot | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 16 | Ghambar Ayathrem ends | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Monday, October 17 | Kathina begins | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Monday, October 17 | First Day of Sukkot | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 18 | Second Day of Sukkot | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, October 19 | Karwa Chauth | Hinduism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Thursday, October 20 | Installation of the Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 23 | Last Day of Sukkot | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 23 | Eve of Shmini Atzeret | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Monday, October 24 | Shmini Atzeret | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Monday, October 24 | Eve of Simhat Torah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 25 | Simhat Torah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 30 | Diwali | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 30 | Mahavira Nirvana | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 30 | Bandi Chhor Divas | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Monday, October 31 | Jain New Year & Day of Enlightenment | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Monday, October 31 | Samhain | Wicca | Special Worship
November

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Tuesday, November 1 | Birth of The Báb | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, November 1 | All Saints Day | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, November 2 | Birth of Bahá'u'lláh | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Thursday, November 3 | Qudrat | Special Worship
  • Saturday, November 5 | Jnana Panchmi | Jainism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Sunday, November 13 | Kathina ends | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Monday, November 14 | Dev Diwali | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Monday, November 14 | Birth date of Shrimad Rajchandra | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Monday, November 14 | Chaturmas ends | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Monday, November 14 | Birth date of Guru Nanak Dev Ji | Sikhims | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, November 15 | Advent begins | Eastern Christianity | Food Restction - Special Worship
  • Tuesday, November 22 | Qawl | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Thursday, November 24 | Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Friday, November 25 | Native American Heritage Day | Aboriginal Spirituality | Special Worship
  • Friday, November 25 | Day of the Covenant | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Sunday, November 27 | Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Bahá | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Sunday, November 27 | First Sunday of Advent | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Monday, November 28 | Advent Begins | Christianity | Food Restriction- Special Worship
December

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Thursday, December 8 | Awakening Day | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, December 10 | Maunajiyaras | Jainism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Sunday, December 11 | Masá'il | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, December 13 | Mawlid al-Nabíy | Islam | Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Wednesday, December 14 | Sanghamitta Day | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, December 21 | Tohji-taisai | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, December 21 | Yule | Wicca | Special Worship
  • Saturday, December 24 | Eve of Hanukkah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, December 25 | Christmas | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, December 25 | First Day of Hanukkah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Monday, December 26 | Death of Prophet Zarathustra | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Friday, December 30 | Sharaf | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Saturday, December 31 | Ghambar Maidyarem begins | Zarathushti | Special Worship

2017

JANUARY

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Sunday, January 1 | Temple Day | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, January 1 | Last Day of Hanukkah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, January 1 | Gantan-sai | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, January 4 | Ghambar Maidyarem ends | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Thursday, January 5 | Birth of Guru Gobind Singh Ji | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Friday, January 6 | Epiphany | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Friday, January 6 | Theophany | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Friday, January 6 | Armenian Christmas | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Saturday, January 7 | Orthodox Christmas | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Monday, January 9 | Seijin-no-hi | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Thursday, January 12 | Mahayana New Year | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Friday, January 13 | Maghi | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, January 14 | Makar Sankranti | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, January 14 | Orthodox New Year | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, January 15 | World Religion Day | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, January 18 | Week of Prayer for Christian Unity | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, January 18 | Sultán | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Thursday, January 19 | Feast of Theophany | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, January 25 | Honen Shonin Memorial | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, January 28 | Lunar New Year | Buddhism | Special Worship
FEBRUARY

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Wednesday, February 1 | Vasanta Panchami | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Thursday, February 2 | Imbolc | Wicca | Special Worship
  • Friday, February 3 | Setsuban-sai | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Monday, February 6 | Mulk | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Friday, February 10 | Magha | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Friday, February 10 | Eve of Tu B'Shevat | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, February 11 | Tu B'Shevat | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, February 15 | Nehan-e | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, February 25 | Ayyám-i-Há | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Saturday, February 25 | Mahashivaratri | Hinduism | Special Worship*
  • Monday, February 27 | Losar | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Monday, February 27 | Great Fast beings | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, February 28 | Shrove Tuesday | Christianity | Special Worship
MARCH

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Wednesday, March 1 | 'Alá' | Bahá'í | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Wednesday, March 1 | Ash Wednesday | Christianity | Restrictions- Special Worship
  • Friday, March 3 | World Day of Prayer | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Saturday, March 11 | Eve of Purim | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, March 12 | Purim | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Monday, March 13 | Holi | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Monday, March 13 | Birth date of L. Ron Hubbard | Scientology | None
  • Monday, March 13 | Hola Mohalla | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, March 14 | Memorial of Shan-tao/Zendo Daishi | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, March 14 | Sikh New Year's Day | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Thursday, March 16 | Ghambar Hamaspathmaedem begins | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Friday, March 17 | Festival of Higan-e | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Monday, March 20 | Bahá & Naw-Rúz | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Monday, March 20 | Shubun-no-hi | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Monday, March 20 Ostara | Wicca | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, March 21 | Now Ruz | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Sunday, March 26 | Birth of Prophet Zarathustra | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, March 28 | Navvarsha | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, March 28 | Ramayana Week begins | Hinduism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
APRIL

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Saturday, April 8 | Jalal | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Saturday, April 8 | Buddha's Birthday date | Bhuddism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, April 8 | Lazarus Saturday | Christianity (E) | Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 9 | Palm Sunday | Christianity (E) | Special Worship
  • Sun. April 9 -Fri. April 14 | Holy Week | Christianity (W)| Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 9 | Mahavira-jayanti | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Monday, April 10 | Eve of Pesah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, April 11 | First Day of Pesah (Passover) | Judaism | Food Restriction-Special Worship
  • Tuesday, April 11 | Hanuman Jayanti | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, April 11 | Theravada New Year | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, April 12 | Second Day of Pesah | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Thursday, April 13 | Holy Thursday | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Friday, April 14 | Good Friday | Christianity | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Friday, April 14 | Vaisakhi | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Friday, April 14 | Vaisakhi | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, April 15 | Holy Saturday | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 16 | Easter | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 16 | Shrimad Rajchandra Dehvilay | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Monday, April 17 | Seventh Day of Pesah | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Tuesday, April 18 | Last Day of Pesah | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Thursday, April 20 | First Day of Ridván | Bahá'í | Work Restriction-  Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 23 | Eve of yom HaShoah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Monday, April 24 | Laylat al Mi'raj | Islam | Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Monday, April 24 | Yom HaShoah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Thursday, April 27 | Jamál | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Friday, April 28 | Ninth Day of Ridván | Bahá'í | Work Restriction
  • Saturday, April 29 | Akshaya-tritiya | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 30 | Ghambar Maidyozarem begins | Zarathushti | Special Worship
MAY

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Monday, May 1 | Beltane - Samhain | Wicca - Pagan | Food and Work Restriction
  • Monday, May 1* | Ridvan - Twelfth Day | Bahá'í | Food and Work Restriction
  • Thursday, May 4 | Laylat al Mi'raj | Islam | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, May 9 |Dianetics Day| Scientology| None
  • Wednesday, May 10 | Wesak | Buddhism | Special Worship*
  • Thursday, May 11 |Laylat al Bara'at|Islam| Special Worship
  • Monday, May 16 | 'Azamat |  Bahá'í| Special Worship
  • Saturday, May 20 |Sanja Matsuri |Shinto| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, May 23 |Declaration of The Bab | Bahá'í | Work Restriction
  • Tuesday, May 23 |Aboriginal Awareness Week | Aboriginal Spirituality |Special Worship
  • Thursday, May 25 | Ascension | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Saturday, May 27 | Ramadan begins | Islam | Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Sunday, May 28* | Ascension of the Bahá'u'lláh | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, May 30 | Eve of Shavuot | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, May 31 | First Day of Shavuot | Judaism | Special Worship
JUNE

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Thursday, June 1 | Second Day of Shavuot | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, June 4 | Nur | Baha'i | Special Worship
  • Sunday, June 4 | Pentecost | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Friday, June 9 | Poson | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, June 11 |National Day of Healing and Reconciliation| Aboriginal Spirituality | Special Worship
  • Sunday, June 11 | Trinity Sunday | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, June 11 | All Saints Day | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Friday, June 16| Martyrdom of Guru Arjan Dev Ji|Sikhims | Special Worship
  • Sunday, June 18 |Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Lodro Anniversary| Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, June 21 | Litha - Yule | Wicca - Pagan | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, June 21 | National Aboriginal Day | Aboriginal Spirituality| Special Worship
  • Thursday, June 22 | Laylat al-Qadr | Islam | Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Friday, June 23 | Rahmat| Baha'i| Special Worship
  • Friday, June 23 | Jun'at al-Wada | Islam | Special Worship
  • Sunday, June 25 | 'Id al-Fitr | Islam | Special Worship
  • Thurdsay, June 29 | Ghambar Maidyoshem Begins | Zoroastrianism | Special Worship
JULY

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Monday, July 3 | Ghambar Maidyoshem Ends | Zoroastrianism | Special Worship
  • Thurday, July 6 | Birth date of H.H. Dalai Lama Tenzin Gyatso | Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Sunday, July 9 | Martyrdom of the Bab | Bahá'í | Work Restriction
  • Sunday, July 9 | Asalha Puja| Bhuddism| Special Worship
  • Sunday, July 9 |Vassa begins| Bhuddism| Special Worship
  • Sunday, July 9 | Guru Purnima| Jainism| Special Worship
  • Sunday, July 9 | Chatarmas begins| Bhuddism| Special Worship
  • Wednesday, July 12 | Kalimat| Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Sunday, July 30 |Oh-harai-taisai| Shinto| Special Worship
  • Monday, July 31 | Eve of Tish'a B'Av | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Monday, July 31 | Kamal| Bahá'í| Special Worship
AUGUST

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Tuesday, August1| Lammas | Wicca| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, August 1 | Tish'a B'Av | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Sunday, August 6| Transfiguration Day |Christianity (W)| Special Worship
  • Monday, August 7 | Raksha Bandhan | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, August 8|Fravardeghan Days begin| Zarathushti| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, August 15 | Sri Krishna Jayanti | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Thursday, August 17| Fravardeghan Days end| Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Friday, August 18 |  Nowruz |  Zarathushti|  Special Worship
  • Saturday, August 19| Asma'| Baha'i| Special Worship
  • Saturday, August 19| Transfiguration Day | Christianity (E)| Special Worship
  • Saturday, August 19 | Paryushana-parva beings | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Thursday, August 24| Birth of Prophet Zarathustra| Zarathushti| Special Worship
  • Friday, August 25|  Sri Krishna Jayanti| Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Saturday, August 26| Festival of Ksitigarbha Bodhisattva|  Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, August 26|  Paryushana-parva ends | Jainism| Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Saturday, August 26 | Samvatsari | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, August 26 | Dashalakshani-parva begins | Jainism | Food Restriction- Special Worship