Skip navigation
Degree Programs

University Writing Program

Events, Research & News

Faculty News

Heather Martin DU Writing Program Faculty Professor Heather Martin received the University of Denver’s award for “Service Learning Faculty Member of the Year,” joining her colleague Liz Drogin, who received that same award two years ago.  The entire Writing Program received the Community-Engaged Department of the Year Award in 2012.



Kara TaczakDr. Kara Taczak, Writing Program Lecturer, was recently announced to be the winner of the  Conference on College Composition and Communication  2015 Research Impact Award for the book she co-authored:   "Writing across Contexts: Transfer, Composition, and Sites of Writing."   Dr. Taczak will be honored at the CCCC Convention in Tampa in March. Congratulations Kara for this outstanding achievement and contribution to the professional work in the composition field!

David Daniels Kate Tufts Discovery Award Finalist

Congratulations to Writing Program Lecturer David J. Daniels for being a finalist for the prestigious Kate Tufts Discovery Award! This award is given annually to poets that show great promise and is one of the most distinguished awards in the field. David's first book "Clean" is a top five first book finalist. Congratulations David!


Department Newsletters

A list of current and archives of past events and newsletters.


Department Events

Writing the Range: The Next Ten Years

The University of Denver's Writing Program is pleased to announce Writing the Range: The Next Ten Years, a day of interaction on scholarship, pedagogy, and the profession with a special emphasis on issues concerning the future of the front range writing community. Featured in this day-long symposium are keynote talks by Dr. Cheryl Ball and Dr. Kate Vieira, a research and pedagogy forum, and dynamic roundtable sessions.

April 29, 2016

Hosted by the University of Denver's Writing Program

On the DU Campus

CFP Submissions for speaking/workshop roles due January 15, 2016: ( )

Registration for non-speaker/workshop audience members due March 1, 2016: ( )

Learn more here