Skip navigation

College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Lamont School of Music

Newman Center for the Performing Arts

Summer Academy


Mary Beth Shaffer

Mary Beth Barteau Shaffer

Mary Beth Barteau Shaffer is the former Director of the Lamont School of Music Summer Academy and was Coordinator of the Piano Preparatory Program at the University of Denver. She has served on the faculties of Grinnell College, The University of Iowa, Northwestern College, the University of St. Thomas, Rocky Ridge Music Center, and Pikes Peak Community College, and has worked in arts administration at The University of Iowa's Hancher Auditorium, Arts Education Outreach and Project Art.

Ms. Shaffer has performed throughout the United States as a soloist and collaborative musician with numerous artists, including violinists Leopold LaFosse and Robert McDuffie, the Wendt-King cello duo and as duo pianist with Carole Lesniak Thomas. Her Colorado collaborations include recitals with faculty from the Lamont School of Music and Colorado College, and with members of the Colorado Springs Philharmonic and the Colorado Symphony Orchestra.

Her piano studio has produced many prize-winners in competitions, including the MTNA Auditions, the MMTA Young Artist Auditions, the CSMTA Auditions, the CSU-Pueblo Piano Festival, the Schubert Club Auditions and the Thursday Musical Auditions. Her students have performed with the Des Moines Symphony, the Fort Dodge Symphony, the Minnetonka Symphony Orchestra, the Rocky Ridge Chamber Orchestra and on "From the Top."

Ms. Shaffer is also an experienced adjudicator and clinician throughout the United States. Her articles on piano technique have been published in Keyboard Companion magazine. She has held several state and local offices in both the Music Teachers National Association and the National Federation of Music Clubs in Colorado, Minnesota, and Iowa, and is currently the president of the Colorado State Music Teachers Association. In 1994, she was awarded the Master Teacher Certificate by the Music Teachers National Association.