Skip navigation

College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Department of Languages & Literatures

Faculty and Staff

Languages & Literatures Department

Faculty & Staff

Program & Course Listing

language advisors

We do not currently have an online advising appointment system.  Please contact your language advisor by email to make an appointment.

Major Advising

Your major advisor can be found through PioneerWeb. Please contact us if there is no major advisor listed for your language major.

Click on the Student tab.
Find the box labeled Advising and Registration Tools.
Click My Student Profile.
Select the correct term in the top right corner.
Your advisors should be listed at the bottom of the center box.

Study Abroad Advising

Study abroad advisors can be found on your language program's study abroad page.

General Advising by Language

Arabic: Maha Foster
Chinese: Li Li Peters
French & Francophone Studies: Assigned by student's last name
German: Wilfried Wilms and Gabi Kathöfer
Hebrew: Sari Havis
Italian: Rachel Walsh
Japanese: Orna Shaughnessy
Latin/Greek: Victor Castellani
Russian: Gregory Ormiston and Alexei Bogdanov
Spanish: Drop by the Languages and Literatures office, Sturm Hall 391.

- Spanish Minors: Last name A-J contact Kathleen Guerra
- Spanish Minors: Last name K-Z contact Murat Rodriguez-Nacif

FACULTY

Arabic
  • Maha Foster

    Maha Foster

    Teaching Professor of Arabic
    Sturm Hall, Room 186A
    Phone: 303-871-7464
    Email: maha.foster@du.edu

    more info...

French and Francophone Studies
German
Italian
Japanese
  • Yuki Arita

    Yuki Arita

    Teaching Assistant Professor of Japanese
    Sturm Hall, Room 328
    Phone: 303-871-2163
    Email: yuki.arita@du.edu 

    more info...

  • Miho Hamamoto

    Miho Hamamoto

    Teaching Assistant Professor of Japanese
    Sturm Hall, Room 332
    Phone: 303-871-2082
    Email: Miho.Hamamoto@du.edu

  • No headshot available

    Masako Onakado

    Visiting Teaching Assistant Professor of Japanese
    Sturm Hall, Room 391C
    Phone: 303-871-7435
    Email: Masako.Onakado@du.edu

    more info...

  • Orna Shaughnessy

    Orna Shaughnessy

    Assistant Professor of Japanese
    Sturm Hall, Room 346A
    Phone: 303-871-2554
    Email: orna.shaughnessy@du.edu

    more info...

  • Adjunct Instructors:

    Mayumi Nakao Zbaeren
    Sturm Hall, Room 391J | 303-871-2847 | Mayumi.Zbaeren@du.edu 

Russian
  • Alexei Bogdanov

    Alexei Bogdanov

    Visiting Teaching Assistant Professor of Russian
    Sturm Hall, Room 309
    Phone: 303-871-2147
    Email: Alexei.Bogdanov@du.edu

    more info...

  • No Photo Available

    Gregory Ormiston

    Visiting Teaching Assistant Professor of Russian
    Sturm Hall, Room 487F
    Phone: 303-871-2609
    Email: Gregory.Ormiston@du.edu

    more info...

Spanish

STAFF

Assistant to the Chair
Department Assistant

Erika Watt

Department Assistant
Sturm Hall, Room 391
Phone: 303-871-2662
Email: erika.watt@du.edu

Student Administrative Assistants

Josie Evans

Student Administrative Assistant
Sturm Hall, Room 391
Phone: 303-871-2662
Email: llstaff@du.edu

Evelyn Millan Arzola

Student Administrative Assistant
Sturm Hall, Room 391
Phone: 303-871-2662
Email: llstaff@du.edu

Beatriz Portillo

Student Administrative Assistant
Sturm Hall, Room 391
Phone: 303-871-2662
Email: llstaff@du.edu