Skip navigation

Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Media, Film & Journalism Studies

MFJS Margolin Lecturer

Media, Film & Journalism Studies

The Margolin Lecturer


Morton Margolin

Beginning in 2015, the Morton L. Margolin Distinguished Lecture has been given each year in honor of renowned Colorado business journalist Morton Margolin. During his distinguished 35-year career as a journalist with the Rocky Mountain News and the Colorado Business Magazine that he co-founded, Margolin received many awards, including a nomination for the Pulitzer Prize. His series of news stories exposing controversial U.S. reclamation projects in the Riverton, Wyo., area in 1952 won him that nomination.

Prior to the Morton L. Margolin Distinguished Lecture Series, the University of Denver School of Communication and the Denver College of Business presented the prestigious Morton Margolin Prize recognizing Distinguished Business Reporting in Colorado from 1980 until 2008. A group of Margolin's friends established the award following his death in 1978 to recognize his career as a business journalist for local publications, including the Rocky Mountain News and Colorado Business Magazine.

Morton L. Margolin Distinguished Lecturer

Third Annual Morton L. Margolin Distinguished Lecturer: Dr. Julianne Malveaux

Dr. Julianne Malveaux speaks to a master class in January 2017On January 19 & 20, 2017, the Department of Media, Film & Journalism Studies had the pleasure of hosting Dr. Julianne Malveaux – economist, author, and political correspondent – as the keynote speaker at the 2017 Diversity Summit. Dr. Malveaux was honored by the department in two capacities, as both the Morton L. Margolin Distinguished Lecturer and the Estlow International Center for Journalism and New Media's Anvil of Freedom recipient.

This year's Diversity Summit, held on inauguration day, followed the theme of Many Stories, Many Truths: Overcoming Challenges in Building Community. It featured a variety of workshops, panels, and meetings centered around the concept of diversity and inclusivity, including a teach-in with Chancellor Rebecca Chopp.

Dr. Malveaux presented on Thursday, January 19 in her capacity as the Morton L. Margolin Distinguished Lecturer. She spoke first to students from Media, Film & Journalism Studies, Economics, Gender & Women's Studies, Sociology, and Communication Studies at a Master Class titled Gender, Media & the Economy. The Master Class was followed by a panel on The Business and Economic Outlook of Denver and the Nation after the Inauguration where Dr. Malveaux was joined by panelists Joelle Martinez, Executive Director of the Latino Leadership Institute at DU; Candi CdeBaca, Executive Director of Project VOYCE; and Dana Coffield, Business Editor of the Denver Post. Brent Chrite, Dean of the Daniels College of Business, served as moderator.

Dr. Malveaux was honored in recognition of the publication of her book, Are we better off? Race, Obama and public policy, published in February 2016. This book is a compilation of Malveaux's columns that offer a review of the highs and lows of the Obama presidency from an African American perspective.

Photos from the event are now available online. See photos

About Julianne Malveaux
Julianne Malveaux is a journalist, author, and economist and has been a regular commentator featured on CNN, PBS, NBC, BET, and FOX among others, and her columns have appeared in USA Today, Ms. Magazine, and more.

Her writings provide insights on a range of topics, including the merits of minority-owned businesses and Black entrepreneurship, the payday loan debt system that traps many moderate and low income people in poverty, and the societal benefits of a livable minimum wage.

For five years, Malveaux served as President of Bennett College, which along with Spelman College is one of only two all-women historically black colleges. During the election season Malveaux called for both Clinton and Trump to address the nation's poor and hungry in their debates.

Past Honorees

Morton Margolin Business Journalism Award Winners
  • 2008: Gargi Chakrabarty, Rocky Mountain News
  • 2007: David Olinger and Aldo Svaldi, Denver Post
  • 2006: Allen Best, Colorado Biz
  • 2005: Paul Beebe and Bryan Oller, The Gazette
  • 2004: Greg Griffin and Jeffrey Leib, The Denver Post
  • 2003: Louis Aguilar and Kevin Simpson, The Denver Post
  • 2002: Shannon Joyce Neal, The Daily Sentinel
  • 2001: Greg Griffin, The Denver Post
  • 2000: Tina Griego, The Denver Rocky Mountain News
  • 1999: Al Lewis, The Denver Rocky Mountain News
  • 1998: Michelle S. Conklin, Rocky Mountain News
  • 1997: Alan Prendergast, Westword
  • 1996: John Accola, Rocky Mountain News
  • 1995: Price Coleman, Rocky Mountain News
  • 1994: Julie Hutchinson, Colorado Business
  • 1993: Garrison Wells, Denver Business Journal
  • 1992: Andy van De Voorde, Westword
  • 1991: Jaye Scholl, Barron’s
  • 1990: Don Knox, Rocky Mountain News
  • 1989: Mark Harden, The Herald ( Everett , Washington )
  • 1988: Henry Dubroff and Mark Tatge, The Denver Post
  • 1987: Suzanne Costas, Denver Business Journal
  • 1986: Michael Rounds, Rocky Mountain News
  • 1985: Glenn Meyers and Jeff Rundles, Rocky Mountain Business Journal
  • 1984: Gail Pits, The Denver Post
  • 1983: Joe Weber, Rocky Mountain News
  • 1982: William Boas, Jr, Colorado Business
  • 1981: Jerry Ruhl, Rocky Mountain News
  • 1980: Alan Gersten, Rocky Mountain News

Crowd photo from the Margolin Lecture 2015

Back row, from left to right: Merrie Kippur (daughter of Morton Margolin), Riva Froymovitch (Inaugural Margolin Distinguished Lecturer), Isabel Raitt (BA'17), Courtney Dunson (BA'15), Kyna Moore (MA'15), Kaley Anderson (MA'16)
Front row: Danielle Vaughn (MA'15), Professor Lynn Schofield Clark, Sonia ImMasche (daughter of Morton Margolin), Kellyn Smith (Sr. Dir. of Development, University Advancement)