Skip navigation

College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Department of Philosophy

Degree Programs

Department of Philosophy

Faculty & Staff

 FACULTY

Michael Brent

Michael Brent

Assistant Professor 
Metaphysics, philosophy of action, philosophy of mind
Sturm Hall 260
Email: Michael.Brent@du.edu
more info...

 

Thomas Nail

Thomas Nail

Associate Professor, Graduate Advisor 
European philosophy; political philosophy; environmental philosophy 
Sturm Hall 261
Email: thomas.nail@du.edu
more info...

 

Marco J. Nathan

Marco J. Nathan

Associate Professor, Department Chair 
Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Biology; Philosophy of Neuroscience, Psychology and Cognitive Science
Sturm Hall 264
Phone: 303-871-2767
Email: marco.nathan@du.edu
more info...

 

Jared Nieft

Jared Nieft

Visiting Teaching Assistant Professor 
Aesthetics; Critical Theory; Early Modern Philosophy; Frankfurt School
Sturm Hall 260
Email: jared.nieft@du.edu

 

Sarah Pessin

Sarah Pessin

Professor
Jewish philosophy; Neoplatonisms; comparative medieval philosophy
Sturm Hall 265
Phone: 303-871-7731
Email: spessin@du.edu
more info...

 

Naomi Reshotko

Naomi Reshotko

Professor
Ancient Greek philosophy; philosophy of mind; metaphysics; epistemology
Sturm Hall 489
Phone: 303-871-2765
Email: nreshotk@du.edu
more info...

 

Jere Surber

 

 

 

Jere Surber

Professor   Retiring July 2020
Modern and Contemporary Continental Thought; Philosophy of Culture and Cultural Critique; Metaphilosophy; Aesthetics; Language and Semiotics
Sturm Hall 263
Phone: 303-871-2759
Email: jere.surber@du.edu
more info...

 

Candace Upton

Candace Upton

Associate Professor, Undergraduate Advisor
Ethical theory; virtue ethics; moral psychology; Greek moral philosophy; philosophy of law; Logic
Sturm Hall 262
Phone: 303-871-2761
Email: cupton@du.edu
more info...

 

RETIRED & EMERITUS Faculty

Bill” width=

William Anderson

Emeritus Associate Professor
Contemporary & analytic philosophy; formal logic 

 

 

Roscoe Hill

Dean Emeritus, Emeritus Associate Professor
Philosophy of Law;Philosophy of Mind; Ethics; Philosophy of Religion

 

Frank

Frank Seeburger

Emeritus Professor  
Heidegger; phenomenology; existentialism; 20th century continental thought; European philosophy; philosophy of the emotions; feminist theory; addiction studies

 

STAFF

olesia

Olesia R. Stockhold

Program Coordinator
Sturm Hall 266
Phone: 303-871-2623
Email: olesia.stockhold@du.edu

gretchen

Gretchen Hefner 

Assistant to the Chair 
Sturm Hall 257
Phone: 303-871-2757
Email: gretchen.hefner@du.edu