Skip navigation

College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Department of Religious Studies

Degree Programs

Department of Religious Studies

Theta Alpha Kappa Society

The Department of Religious Studies is an active member of Theta Alpha Kappa, the United States' National Honor Society for Religious Studies and Theology.

Founded in upstate New York in 1976 to recognize the academic achievements of religion and theology students at the undergraduate and graduate level, TAK has more than 200 chapters at colleges and universities around the country.

The DU chapter was founded in August 2012. Our chapter is Alpha Lambda Zeta (ALZ), and our chapter code is 295.

DU and JDP graduate students have been recognized multiple times by TAK for their work, with multiple Albert Clark Award winners:

2019, JDP student Joshua Paul Smith 

2019, JDP student Rebecca M. David Hensley, runner-up

2018, JDP student David King

2015, JDP student Danny Yencich

2014, RLGS MA and JDP student Catherine Orsborn

2014, JDP student David Pettit, runner-up

2013, RLGS MA and JDP student Patrick Bowen


The Albert Clark award includes publication of the winning article in the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa , a biannual scholarly journal that provides opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to publish their work as well as a cash prize.

TAK awards are wonderful opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students alike, and we encourage all our students to apply for them!

TAK also offers several scholarship and award opportunities for students in the Department of Religious Studies:

  • The Undergraduate Achievement Award, which carries a $100 prize, is offered in alternate years. Individual chapters nominate one student for this award.
  • The Graduate Fellowship Award, which offers one $2,000 and one $1,000 prize annually, is offered to seniors or recent alumni who are continuing on to graduate study in religious studies or theology.
  • The Albert Clark Award, which offers one $500 award for best graduate paper and one $500 award for best undergraduate paper, is offered annually to undergraduate and graduate students of religious studies or theology.

To be nominated for individual membership in TAK, a student must have a 3.5 GPA in religious studies courses and a 3.0 GPA overall.

Please contact the chapter moderator, Professor Andrea L. Stanton, if you would like to be nominated or to learn more about TAK award opportunities.