Skip navigation
Degree Programs

Community-Engaged Scholarship

Scholar Shop

What is the community spotlight series?

The aim of the Community Spotlight Series is to connect DU students and faculty with Denver-based community partners to pursue collaborative projects. Projects may include community-engaged scholarship/research or short-and long-term service learning opportunities. At Community Spotlight events, community partner representatives share information on current initiatives and actively brainstorm in dialogue with DU attendees about opportunities for partnership.

previous spotlight partners

Second Chance Center

Hassan Latif, Executive Director

hassan@scccolorado.org | 303.537.5838

 

WHI

Diana Flahive, Director


flahive@flahive.us | 303.832.4188

 

Open world Learning

Lea Ann Reitzig, Chief Executive Officer

lreitzig@openworldlearning.org | 303.832.0066

Hope Kids

Howie Hutchinson, Executive Director

howie@hopekids.org | 303.596.2329 

earthlinks

Cass Cronan, Executive Director

cass@earthlinks-colorado.org | 303.389.0085

 

 

wayne new logo

Wayne New, Denver City Councilman 

wayne.new@denvergov.org | 720.337.7710

 

 

Carson J Spencer Foundation

Jess Stohlmann-Rainey, Senior Program Director

jess@carsonjspencer.org | 303.219.5042 (ext. 6)

 

 

audubon society

Kate Hogan, Community Outreach Coordinator

communityoutreach@denveraudubon.org | 303.973.9530 

 

 

A Little Help  

Hilary Lenz, Program Director

hilary@alittlehelp.org | 720.242.9032

 

 

reading partners logo

Jessica Morse, Community Engagement Manager

jessica.morse@readingpartners.org | 720.965.0266

MORE INFORMATION

To learn more about the Community Spotlight Series or how to partner with past community organization participants, please contact the Scholar Shop Coordinator, Alison Turner, at alison.turner@du.edu

Last updated: 14th September 2017