Opportunity and Strategy Task Force

Charge: This task force is charged with investigating how the University advances in a time of crisis and how it might leverage opportunities in order to become stronger still. In essence, this task force looks at the strategic directions the University should take. In addition, this group will also consider external and alumni relationships as well as advancement/philanthropy. Possible considerations include (but are not limited to) property acquisition, mergers and acquisitions of other universities and/or businesses, aspects of DU IMPACT 2025, the five Strategic Imperatives and the pilot four-dimensional student experience.




  • Jeremy Haefner




  • Ann Ayers

    Dean, Colorado Women’s College

  • Vivek Choudhury

    Dean and professor, Daniels College of Business

  • Peter Gilbertson

    Trustee, BA ’75

  • Alexi Freeman

    Associate professor of the practice of law, director of externships and public interest initiatives, Sturm College of Law

  • Garret Glass

    Assistant director of production, Newman Center for the Performing Arts

  • Craig Harrison

    Trustee, BSBA ’03

  • Darrin Hicks

    Professor of communications studies, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences;

    president, Faculty Senate

  • Amanda McBride

    Dean and professor, Graduate School of Social Work

  • Katia Miller

    Analyst, Office of Institutional Research and Analysis

  • Val Otten

    Senior vice chancellor, University Advancement

  • Cappy Shopneck

    Trustee, BFA ’76, MBA ’79

  • Morgan Smith, BA '18

    Alumus, president of undergraduate student government 2017-18

  • David Thomson

    Professor of practice and John C. Dwan Professor for Online Learning, Sturm College of Law

  • Fred Waldeck   


  • Ellen Winiarczyk

    Teaching assistant professor and academic director, University College

  • Staff support: Allison Riola

    Director of chancellor engagement, Office of the Chancellor

Timeframe: Work will be completed by August 1.