Skip navigation
HerDU 2018

HerDU 2018

Robin Morgan Outstanding Woman Awards

DU Community Members Honored at HerDU 2018 Conference

On Friday, April 20, as part of the HerDU 2018 Conference, six members of the DU community were honored for their roles in promoting and enhancing the University community by addressing the concerns of women, and going beyond their job responsibilities to advocate for DU women.

  • Robin Morgan Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award – Amelia Coomber, senior computer science major and serial entrepreneur
  • Robin Morgan Outstanding Graduate Student Award – Jennyfer Mitchell, graduate research assistant, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Robin Morgan Outstanding Faculty Award – Kate Crowe, curator for Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries
  • Robin Morgan Outstanding Administrator Award – Nancy Sasaki, associate dean, Division of Natural Sciences & Mathematics
  • Robin Morgan Outstanding Staff Woman Award -- Debbie Mixon Mitchell, director for Diversity Recruiting at the University of Denver
  • John Nichols Ally Award – Gregg Kvistad, provost and executive vice chancellor

Learn More About the Honorees


2018 Robin Morgan Award Winners Undergraduate Award Winner Amelia Coomber

L-R: Gregg Kvistad; Dawn Riley Duval; Nancy Sasaki; Jennyfer Mitchell; Kate Crowe Amelia Coomber

Anthea Johnson Rooen, the winner of the 2017 Robin Morgan Staff Award, presented the 2018 Staff award to Reverend Dawn Riley Duval, who accepted on behalf of her mother Deborah Mixon-Mitchell, the 2018 honoree. Mixon-Mitchell was also the 2014 recipient of the Outstanding Service Award, the highest honor presented each year in recognition of a person who exemplifies the mission of the University of Denver.

The honorees received glass sculptures created by Loveland, Colorado artist Donna Gordon. Gordon strives for her work to be original and unique, and the design of the free-standing hearts – her signature piece -- are based on that principle. HerDU 2018 co-chair Dr. Allison Friederichs, who MC'd the award ceremony, noted that the sculptures were representative of the winners and the "heart of DU" that they embody.

Established in 2001, the Robin Morgan Outstanding Woman Awards are presented annually to DU women who go beyond their job responsibilities to advocate for women in the University of Denver community. Additionally, the Women's Coalition grants one award—the John Nichols Ally Award—to a DU male who goes beyond his job responsibilities to champion women at DU. Robin Morgan is a champion of women's rights in the U.S. and around the world, and was a Visiting Professor in Residence at the University of Denver in 1996. During her tenure at the University, she engaged her passion for empowering women to help redefine and enhance the University's mission through the creation of women's organizations and professional development opportunities. The recipients of these awards reflect the work and commitment to the ideals Robin Morgan embodied.

Past Recipients


Anthea Johnson Rooen (2017)

Andrea Sullivan (2016)

Nancy Jones (2015)

Molly Hooker (2014)

Theresa Hernandez (2013)

Georgette Kennebrae (2012)

Shelley Popke (2011)

Jacqueline Sene (2010)

Meg Steitz (2009)

Susan Rivera (2008)

Sarah Tonso (2006)

Jan Armani (2005)

Anita Johnson (2004)

Yasmaine Ford Faggan (2003)

Tracie Kruse (2002)

Ali Walton (2001)


Judith Fox (2017)
Jean F. East (2016)
Hava Gordon (2015)


Johanna Leyba (2017)
Patti Helton (2016)
Corinne Lengsfeld (2015)

Undergraduate Student:

Emma Decker & Lori Scott (2017)
Brooklyn Batey-Jarmon (2016)
Tiffany Wilk (2015)

Graduate Student:

Lauren Nelson (2017)
Whitley Lehto (2016)
Sarah Olivier (2015)

John Nichols Ally Award:

Art Jones (2017)
John Nichols (2016)