Skip navigation

Campus Life & Inclusive Excellence

Health & Counseling Center

Mental Health Task Force

About Us

The DU Mental Health Task Force is a 30-member interdisciplinary team with representation from a variety of campus constituencies and disciplinary areas that has been tasked to:

  • Develop and lead efforts to promote mental wellbeing throughout the DU campus
  • Establish a DU community that is prepared to respond to students in distress


jacaranda palmateer

Jacaranda Palmateer
Director of Counseling
Health and Counseling Center
[email protected]

terri m davis

Terri M. Davis
Director, PsyD Program
Associate Professor
Graduate School of Professional Psychology
[email protected]


Alex Hoffner-Heinike   Jessica Boynton Marlene Arnold
Amanda Pennington Jessica Rosenfeld Michael Holt
Ashley Edinger Julie Law Molly Hooker
Christof Demong-Heinrich Katy Barrs Nancy Lorenzon
Claude d'Estree Kelly Klene Nick Royal
Damon Vine Kelly Schlabach Sarah Roisman
Darlene Jenkins Kristen Fetrow  Stacey Freedenthal
Gary Brower Kwame Wiredu Tracey Adams-Peters
James Darney Lila Zlotowski Wesley Fussner
Jenny Bowers Maria Riva Will Thomas
Ahmad Almadhor Adrienne Martinez Elizabeth Winberry
Julie Casper Jeni Hunniecutt Theresa Ahrens

Suicide Prevention Project

The University of Denver (DU) Suicide Prevention Project aims to prevent suicide attempts and deaths among DU students by increasing system capacity to support inclusive and comprehensive mental health and substance abuse prevention and treatment services. This will occur through policy development; training activities for students, families, faculty, and staff; provision of educational programs and materials; and tactics to enhance student connectedness.

The DU Suicide Prevention project seeks to enhance the capacity of current support networks and to ultimately produce a campus community that is prepared to respond to students in crisis and act proactively to address the mental health needs of all represented populations. Specific programs goals are to 1) establish consistent use of comprehensive crisis management procedures on campus; 2) eliminate service gaps for identified high-risk groups; 3) increase help-seeking behaviors among students in need of services; 4) increase the ability of the campus community to identify and support at-risk students; and 5) promote student connectedness to each other and to the University. These goals will be accomplished via efforts to 1) convene an interdisciplinary Mental Health Task Force that includes faculty, staff, administrators, students, and local health agencies; 2) assess the mental health needs of identified high-risk groups; 3) review, update, and disseminate comprehensive crisis protocols; 4) incorporate processes to enable early identification and support for incoming students with existing mental health needs; 5) implement gatekeeper training for students, faculty, staff, and families; 6) implement programs and campaigns to enhance student connectedness and reduce stigma related to help-seeking; and 7) develop and offer life skills curriculum.