Skip navigation

Knoebel Institute for Healthy Aging

Knoebel Institute

Knoebel Institute for Healthy Aging

Interdisciplinary Approach


The Knoebel Institute for Healthy Aging (KIHA) brings together key strengths from around campus and the region to address growing needs here in Denver and throughout the nation. Designed to address complex problems in depth, the Institute builds on DU's dedication to the public good by supporting research and scholarship on aging in a variety of disciplines. Lab scientists, social workers, psychologists, lawyers, education specialists, business faculty members and others are routinely involved. The work of the Institute is truly collaborative work, leveraging the assets of the DU community in the discovery and design of knowledge and engagement across our campus and around the world. The members of our Strategic Planning Committee demonstrate our interdisciplinary focus. 

KIHA Strategic Planning Committee Members

  • Lotta Granholm-Bentley, Knoebel Institute for Healthy Aging
  • Briony Catlow, Knoebel Institute for Healthy Aging
  • Eric Chess, Knoebel Institute for Healthy Aging
  • Mary Cullen, Knoebel Institute for Healthy Aging
  • Bradley Davidson, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Kim Gorgens, Clinical Professor and Director of Continuing Education, Graduate School of Professional Psychology
  • David Greenburg, Institutional Partnerships
  • Leslie Hasche, Graduate School of Social Work
  • Patty Hickman, University of Denver Career Center
  • Dan Linseman, Department of Biological Sciences | Eleanor Roosevelt Institute
  • Nancy Lorenzon, Department of Biological Sciences | Pre-Professional/Allied Health Advising | Undergraduate Research Center Professional Science Master's in Biomedical Sciences Program
  • Martin Margittai, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Roddy MacInnes, School of Art and Art History
  • Cynthia McRae, Morgridge College of Education
  • David Patterson, Eleanor Roosevelt Institute