Skip navigation

Institute for Public Policy Studies


Institute for Public Policy Studies

German Marshall Fellowship

American Fellows travel in diverse groups of 18-21 to Brussels, Belgium, for briefings on European and transatlantic institutions before dividing into small groups to visit cities and small towns in Northern, Southern, and Central Europe. American Fellows complete their Fellowship as a group in Berlin or Paris. Recent program schedules can be found

Since 2003, GMF has worked with the Institute for Public Policy Studies each fall to identify four emerging Colorado leaders for the American Fellowship.

2014 Rocky Mountain Regional Fellows Selected

Applying for the Fellowship

Candidates must:

  • be between the ages of 28 and 40
  • be citizens or permanent residents of one of the 15 MMF countries
  • have an outstanding record of achievement in his/her profession
  • demonstrate clear leadership, intellectual curiosity, independence, maturity, and initiative
  • have a strong record of civic involvement and be well-positioned to be influential within their own societies in the coming years
  • demonstrate the ability and commitment to share what they learn on the Marshall Memorial Fellowship program with a broader constituency

Applications for 2016 Fellowship positions are currently CLOSED. Please review this PDF for more information or contact or 303-871-2468.

Colorado Fellows

Cristina Aguilar (2014)
Interim Executive Director
Colorado Organization for Latina Opportunity and Reproductive Rights (COLOR)

Elizabeth Aguilar (2010)
Business Reporter
Denver Post

Ileana Aguinis (2005)
Senior Counsel
First Data International

Albus Brooks (2013)
Denver City Council

Kelly Brough (2000)
President and CEO
Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce

Michael Bugdanowitz (1999)
Partner and Managing Director
Marbury Group LLC

Brian Burnett (2000)
Vice Chancellor, Admin. & Finance
Univ. of Colorado-Colorado Springs

Michael J. Carrigan (2006)
Holland & Hart
Univ. of Colorado Board of Regents

Terrance D. Carroll (2006)
Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Former Speaker of the House
Colorado House of Representatives

Gigi Dennis (2002)
Sr Manager Government Relations
Tri-State Generation and Transmission

Michael Dino (2002)
Senior Policy Advisor
Patton Boggs

Troy Eid (2001)
Greenberg Traurig LLP

Lisa Esgar Douglas (2006)
Associate Vice Chancellor
University of Colorado-Denver

Kate Fay
Kate C Fay & Association, Inc.

Jeb Freeman (2009)
Program Director
Clear Channel (KTCL)

Terry Fox (2004)
Colorado Court of Appeals

Daniel Gibbs (2015)
County Commissioner

Jason Gelender (2010)
Senior Staff Attorney
Office of Legal and Legislative Services

Francisco Gonima (2009)
Topline Associates

Anthony Graves (2014)
Director of Regional Affairs
City and County of Denver

Michael Hancock (2000)
City of Denver

Christopher Hansen (2012)
Director, Corporate Strategy
IHS Global Inc

Thomas Heier (2013)
Major, Bioenvironmental
Engineer, United States Air Force

Alfredo Hernandez (2007)
Chief Deputy District Attorney
Denver District Attorney's Office

Leslie Herod (2014)
Program Officer
Gill Foundation

Cynthia Honssinger Coffman (2002)
Chief Deputy
Office of the Colorado Attorney General

Ernest House, Jr. (2012)
Executive Secretary
Colorado Commission on Indian Affairs

Pilar Ingargiola (2003)
Health Think / Global Think

Sen. Michael Johnston (2010)
Colorado State Senate

Vatsala Kapur Pathy (2007)
Rootstock Solutions

Janet Lopez (2013)
Program Officer
Rose Community Foundation

Edward Guajardo Lucero (2001)
Former Program Officer
The Colorado Trust

Laura Lewis Marchino (2005)
Assistant Director
Region 9 Economic Development District

Sean Maher (2004)
Executive Director
Downtown Boulder Business Improvement District

John Marshall (2012)
VP of Students Services
Mesa State College

Dianna May (2000)
Policy Director
Colorado Forum

Matt A. Mayer (2004)
President & CEO
Provisum Strategies LLC

James Mejia
Mejia Associates

Monisha Merchant (2010)
Director, Product Management
Level 3 Communications

Oliva Mendoza (2015)
Office of Economic Development and International Trade

Khanh Nguyen (2004)
Senior Program Officer
The Colorado Health Foundation

Kathie Novak (2002)
Director, Rocky Mountain Program
The Centers, Univ. of Colorado-Denver

Christopher J. Neumann (2007)
Greenberg Traurig, LLP

Rick O'Donnell (2005)
Former Executive Director
Colo. Commission on Higher Education

Leslie Oliver (2013)
Communications and Policy Director
Congressman Ed Perlmutter

Jim Polsfut (1999)
Cordillera Foundation

Yolanda Quesada (2006)
Managing Director
Latino Community Foundation of Colorado

Dan Richardson (2005)
Senior Energy Consultant
Schmueser Gordon Meyer, Inc Engineers and Surveyors

Meshach Rhoades (2015)
Greenberg Traurig LLP

Kyle Sargent (2004)
Public Affairs Consultant

Patrick Scannell (2005)
Senior Manager, Business Development

Van Schoales (2003)
Program Officer
Piton Foundation

Alexis Senger (2003)
Chief Analyst, Governor's Office of State Planning and Budgeting
State of Colorado

Christine Staberg (2008)
The Capstone Group

Darius Smith (2002)
Director, Anti-Discrimination Office
City and County of Denver

John Tayer (2002)
Public Affairs Center

Jamie Torres (2009)
Director, Office of Community Support
City and County of Denver

DJ Vanas (2002)
Native Discovery, Inc.

Maria VanderKolk (2003)
Communications Manager
Linc Energy Limited

Roberto A. Venegas (2006)
Intergovernmental Relations Coordinator
City of Aurora

Laressa Watlington (2012)
Multimedia Journalist
The Denver Post

Scott A. Woodard (2001)
Transformation Strategies Group