Skip navigation
Degree Programs

2011 Media Releases

DU Celebrates 147 years with Annual Founders Day Gala

Feb 28, 2011—The University of Denver marks its 147th anniversary with a gala celebration and the annual Founders Day awards ceremony on Thursday, March 3. The event recognizes the work of DU faculty, staff, students and alumni through the years. To celebrate, the University annually presents six individuals with awards celebrating their achievements.

The University's highest alumni honor, the Evans Award, is presented to Patrick Grant (MBA '73. Grant recently stepped down as president and CEO of the National Western Stock Show, a role he held since 1991. Under Grant's leadership, the stock show increased ticketed events by 20 percent. Grant oversaw the funding and construction of the Events Center, the Expo Hall and the Hall of Education, and he helped create the National Western's trademark Coors Western Art Exhibit & Sale. Grant is now director of long-range planning at the National Western. First awarded in 1951, the Evans Award, named for University Founder John Evans, recognizes alumni who have demonstrated professional achievement, humanitarian service to the community and continuing interest in the University.

Other awards and recipients include:

The Randolph P. McDonough Award for Service: John Ritter (BA '72)

The Distinguished Service to the University Award: Victor Quinn

The Community Service Award: Brad Busse (BSBA '80)

The Ammi Hyde Award for Recent Graduate Achievement: Nicholas Sauer (BA '05)

The Professional Achievement Award: Carol Tome (MBA '81)

What: 2011 University of Denver Founders Day Awards

Where: Seawell Ballroom, Denver Center for the Performing Arts, 1101 13th Street, Denver, Colo.

When: Reception at 6 p.m., Dinner and Awards Ceremony at 7 p.m. Thursday, March 3

Information: Reporters welcome, RSVP to Kristal Griffith, (303) 871-4117