Skip navigation

GSSWGraduate School of Social Work

Faculty Appointed to CSWE Councils

June 20, 2012

The Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) recently appointed three GSSW faculty members to three-year terms on its councils, effective July 1, 2012.

Professor Jean East was appointed as a member of the CSWE Council on the Role and Status of Women in Social Work Education—part of the Commission on Diversity and Social and Economic Justice—and is responsible for developing educational resources relating to women's issues within social work education. The council works to eliminate all procedures within academia that hinder the full participation of women, makes policy recommendations to the board of directors, and initiates programs and activities related to women in social work education.

Clinical Associate Professor Ann Petrila has been appointed to the CSWE Council on Field Education, part of the Commission on Educational Policy. The council collaborates with the professional community to improve the quality of field programs, provides support for field directors and educators, and produces and disseminates relevant knowledge.

Associate Professor Eugene Walls has been appointed as a member of the CSWE Council on Sexual Orientation and Gender Expression (CSOGE). Along with the Commission for Diversity and Social and Economic Justice, CSOGE advises the CSWE Board of Directors on policy and programmatic matters related to gender expression and sexual orientation.

GSSW graduate Anthony Natale (PhD '05), Associate Professor at the University of Oklahoma's Anne and Henry Zarrow School of Social Work, serves as co-chair of the CSOGE.