Skip navigation

DU Campus Life & Inclusive Excellence

Religious & Spiritual Life

  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • Pause Play

Religious & Spiritual Life

Holy Days With Restrictions/Obligations

2018

JANUARY

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Monday, January 1 | Temple Day | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Monday, January 1 | Gantan-sai | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, January 2 | Mahay'ana New Year | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Thursday, January 4 | Ghambar Maidyarem ends | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Friday, January 5 | Birth of Guru Gobind Singh Ji | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, January 6 | Epiphany | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Saturday, January 6 | Theophany | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Saturday, January 6 | Armenian Christmas | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, January 7 | Orthodox Christmas | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Monday, January 8 | Seijin-no-hi | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Saturday, January 13 | Maghi | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, January 14 | Makar Sankranti | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, January 14 | Orthodox New Year | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Thursday, January 18 | Week of Prayer for Christian Unity | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Thursday, January 18 | Sultán | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Friday, January 19 | Feast of Theophany | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, January 21 | World Religion Day | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Monday, January 22 | Vasanta Panchami | Hinduism| Special Worship*
  • Thursday, January 25 | Honen Shonin Memorial | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, January 27 | Lunar New Year | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, January 30 | Eve of Tu B'Shevat | Judaism | Special Worship*
FEBRUARY

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Friday, February 2 | Imbolc | Wicca | Special Worship
  • Saturday, February 3 | Setsuban-sai | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, February 13 | Shrove Tuesday | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, February 14 | Mahashivaratri | Hinduism | Special Worship*
  • Wednesday, February 14 | Ash Wednesday | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Thursday, February 15 | Nehan-e | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Friday, February 16 | Losar (Tibetan New Year) | Hinduism | Special Worship*
  • Monday, February 19 | Great Fast (Lent) begins | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, February 25 | Ayyám-i-Há | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, February 28 | Eve of Purim | Judaism| Special Worship*
MARCH

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Thursday, March 1 | Magha (Sangha Day) | Buddhism| Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Thursday, March 1 | Purim | Judaism| Special Worship
  • Friday, March 2 | World Day of Prayer | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Friday, March 2 | 'Ala' | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Friday, March 2 | 19-day Fast begins | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Friday, March 2 | Holi | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Friday, March 2 |Hola Molhalla| Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, March 13 | Birth date of L. Ron Hubbard | Scientology | None
  • Wednesday, March 14 | Memorial of Shan-tao/Zendo Daishi | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, March 14 | Sikh New Year's Day | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Friday, March 16 | Ghambar Hamaspathmaedem begins | Zarathushti/Zoroastrianism| Special Worship
  • Saturday, March 17 | Festival of Higan-e | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, March 18 | Navvarsha | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, March 18 | Ramayana Week begins | Hinduism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Tuesday, March 20 | 19-day Fast ends | Bahá'í | Special Worship*
  • Tuesday, March 20 | Shūbun-no-Hi | Shinto | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, March 20 | Ostara| Wicca | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, March 20 | Ghambar Hamaspathmaedem ends | Zarathushti/Zoroastrianism| Special Worship
  • Wednesday, March 21 | Bahá & Naw-Rúz | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, March 21 | Now Ruz | Zarathushti/Zoroastrianism| Special Worship*
  • Saturday, March 24 | Aymbil Ori (First Half) begins | Jainism| Special Worship
  • Sunday, March 25 | Palm Sunday (Western Calendar)| Christianity| Special Worship
  • Sunday, March 25 | Holy Week begins (Western Calendar)| Christianity| Special Worship
  • Monday, March 26 | Birth of Prophet Zarathustra | Zarathushti | Special Worship
  • Monday, March 26 | Ramanavi| Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Thursday, March 29 | Holy (Maundy) Thursday (Western Calendar)| Christianity| Special Worship
  • Thursday, March 29 | Mahavira-jayanti| Jainism| Special Worship*
  • Friday, March 30 | Holy (Good) Friday| Christianity| Special Worship
  • Friday, March 30 | Eve of Pesah| Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Saturday, March 31 |Holy Saturday (Western Calendar)| Christianity| Special Worship
  • Saturday, March 31 | Lazarus Saturday (Eastern Calendar)| Christianity| Special Worship
  • Saturday, March 31 | Hanuman Jayanti| Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Saturday, March 31 | Aymbil Ori ends| Jainism| Special Worship
  • Saturday, March 31 | First day of Pesah (Passover)| Judaism| Food Restriction-Special Worship*
APRIL

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Sunday, April 1 | Easter (Western Calendar) | Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 1| Palm Sunday (Eastern Calendar) | Christianity| Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 1 | Second day of Pesah (Passover)| Judaism| Food Restriction-Special Worship*
  • Thursday, April 5| Holy Thursday (Eastern Calendar) | Christianity| Special Worship
  • Thursday, April 5| Shrimad Rajchandra Dehvilay | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Friday, April 6| Holy Friday (Eastern Calendar) | Christianity| Special Worship*
  • Friday, April 6 | Seventh day of Pesah (Passover)| Judaism| Food Restriction-Special Worship*
  • Saturday, April 7 | Eighth (Last) day of Pesah (Passover)| Orthodox Judaism| Food Restriction-Special Worship*
  • Saturday, April 7 | Lazarus Saturday | Christianity (Eastern Calendar) | Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 8 | Buddha's Birthday date | Bhuddism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, April 8| Pascha/Orthodox Easter (Eastern Calendar) | Christianity| Special Worship*
  • Monday, April 9 | Jalal | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, April 11 | Eve of Yom HaShoah |Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Thursday, April 12| Yom HaShoah | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Friday, April 13 | Laylat al Mi'rāj | Islam | Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Saturday, April 14 | Vaisakhi | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Saturdday, April 14 | Vaisakhi | Sikhism | Special Worship*
  • Saturday, April 15 | Holy Saturday | Christianity | Special
  • Wednesday, April 18 | Akshaya-tritiya | Jainism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, April 21 | First Day of Ridván | Bahá'í | Work Restriction-  Special Worship
  • Saturday, April 28 | Jamál | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Saturday, April 28 | Nichiren Foundation Day | Buddhism | None
  • Sunday, April 29 | Ninth Day of Ridván | Bahá'í | Work Restriction
  • Monday, April 30 | Ghambar Maidyozarem begins | Zarathushti/Zoroastrianism | Special Worship
  • Monday, April 30 | Theravāda New Year | Buddhism | Special Worship
MAY

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Tuesday, May 1 | Beltane - Samhain | Wicca - Pagan | Food and Work Restriction
  • Tuesday, May 1 | Laylat al Bara'at | Islam | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, May 2* | Ridvan - Twelfth Day | Bahá'í | Food and Work Restriction
  • Friday, May 4 | Ghambar Maidyozarem ends | Zarathushti/Zoroastrianism | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, May 9 |Dianetics Day| Scientology| None
  • Thursday, May 10 | Ascension | Christianity (Western Calendar)|Special Worship
  • Wednesday, May 16 | Ramādan begins | Islam| Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Thursday, May 17 | 'Azamat | Bahá'í| Special Worship
  • Thursday, May 17 | Ascension | Christianity (Eastern Calendar)|Special Worship
  • Saturday, May 19 |Sanja Matsuri |Shinto| Special Worship
  • Saturday, May 19| Eve of Shavuot | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, May 20 | First Day of Shavuot | Judaism | Special Worship*
  • Saturday, May 19| Eve of Shavuot | Judaism | Special Worship
  • Monday, May 21 | Second (last) Day of Shavuot | Judaism | Special Worship*
  • Tuesday, May 22 |Aboriginal Awareness Week | Aboriginal Spirituality |Special Worship
  • Thursday, May 24 |Declaration of The Báb | Bahá'í | Work Restriction*
  • Sunday, May 27| Pentecost | Christianity (Eastern Calendar) | Special Worship
  • Sunday, May 27 | Trinity Sunday| Christianity (Western Calendar) | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, May 29| Ascension of the Bahá'u'lláh | Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, May 29 | Wesak (Buddha Day)* | Buddhism| Special Worship
JUNE

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Sunday, June 3 | All Saints Day | Christianity (Eastern Calendar) | Special Worship
  • Tuesday, June 5| Nur | Baha'i | Special Worship
  • Friday, June 8| Jum'at al-Wadā | Islam | Special Worship
  • Sunday, June 10 | Laylat al-Qadr | Islam | Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Monday, June 11 |National Day of Healing and Reconciliation (Canada)| Aboriginal Spirituality | Special Worship
  • Friday, June 15 | ʻĪd al-Fiṭr | Islam | Special Worship*
  • Saturday, June 16| Martyrdom of Guru Arjan Dev Ji|Sikhims | Special Worship
  • Monday, June 18 |Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Lodro Anniversary| Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Thursday, June 21 | Litha - Yule | Wicca - Pagan | Special Worship
  • Thursday, June 21 | National Aboriginal Day (Canada)| Aboriginal Spirituality| Special Worship
  • Sunday, June 24| Rahmat| Baha'i| Special Worship
  • Thursday, June 28| Poson | Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Friday, June 29 | Ghambar Maidyoshem Begins|Zarathushti/Zoroastrianism | Special Worship
JULY

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Tuesday, July 3| Ghambar Maidyoshem Ends | Zoroastrianism | Special Worship
  • Friday, July 6 | Birth date of H.H. Dalai Lama Tenzin Gyatso | Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, July 10 | Martyrdom of the Báb | Bahá'í | Work Restriction*
  • Friday, July 13 | Kalimát| Bahá'í | Special Worship
  • Saturday, July 21 | Eve of Tish'a B'Av | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship*
    Sunday, July 22| Tish'a B'Av | Judaism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Friday, July 27 | Asalha Puja (Dhamma Day)| Bhuddism| Special Worship
  • Friday, July 27 |Vassa (Rains Retreat) begins| Bhuddism| Special Worship
  • Monday, July 30 |Oh-harai-taisai| Shinto| Special Worship
AUGUST

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Wednesday, August 1 | Kamal| Bahá'í| Special Worship
  • Wednesday, August1| Lammas | Wicca| Special Worship
  • Monday, August 6| Transfiguration Day |Christianity (Western/New Calendar)| Special Worship
  • Wednesday, August 8 | Fravardeghan Days begin (Shenshai)| Zarathushti/Zoroastrianism| Special Worship
  • Friday, August 17| Fravardeghan Days end (Shenshai)| Zarathushti/Zoroastrianism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, August 18 |  Nowruz |  Zarathushti|  Special Worship*
  • Sunday, August 19| Transfiguration Day | Christianity (E)|Special Worship
  • Monday, August 20| Asma'| Baha'i| Special Worship
  • Monday, August 20|Day of Hajj| Islam| Special Worship*
  • Tuesday, August 21| ʻĪd al-Adha| Islam| Special Worship*
  • Friday, August 24| Birth of Prophet Zarathustra| Zarathushti| Special Worship
  • Sunday, August 26| Festival of Ksitigarbha Bodhisattva|  Buddhism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, August 26 | Raksha Bandhan | Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Sunday, August 26 | Guru Purnima| Jainism| Special Worship
  • Sunday, August 26 | Chatarmas begins| Bhuddism| Special Worship
SEPTEMBER

Date | Holy Day | Religion or Tradition | Observation - Restriction

  • Saturday, September 1| First Parkash | Sikhism | Special Worship
  • Monday, September 3| Sri Krishna Jayanti| Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Friday, September 7| Birth Date of H.H. Sakya Trizin| Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Saturday, September 8| 'Izzat | Bahá'í| Special Worship
  • Sunday, September 9| Eve of Rosh Hashanah | Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Monday, September 10| Rosh Hashanah (first day)| Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Tuesday, September 11| First of Muharram| Islam| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, September 11| Rosh Hashanah (second day)| Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Wednesday, September 12| Anniversary of the Tatsunokuchi Persecution| Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Wednesday, September 12| Ghambar Paitishem begins| Zarathushti| Special Worship
  • Thursday, September 13| Ganesh Chaturthi | Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Friday, September 14| Paryushana-parva ends | Jainism| Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Friday, September 14| Samvatsari | Jainism | Special Worship*
  • Friday, September 14 | Dashalakshani-parva begins | Jainism | Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Sunday, September 16| Ghambar Paitishem ends| Zarathushti| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, September 18|Eve of Yom Kippur| Judaism| Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Wednesday, September 19|Yom Kippur| Judaism| Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Thursday, September 20| Festival of Higan-e| Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Thursday, September 20|ʿĀshūrāʾ| Islam| Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Saturday, September 22| Eihei Dogen Kigen Memorial| Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Sunday, September 23|Eve of Sukkot| Judaism| Food Restriction- Special Worship*
  • Sunday, September 23|Shūbun no Hi| Shinto Special Worship*
  • Sunday, September 23|Mabon|Wicca|Special Worship*
  • Monday, September 24|Ananta-chaturdasi| Jainism| Special Worship
  • Monday, September 24|First Day of Sukkot| Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Tuesday, September 25| Pitru Paksha| Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, September 25|Ksamavani| Jainism| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, September 25| Dashalakshani-parva ends| Jainism| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, September 25|Second Day of Sukkot|Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Wednesday, September 26| Third Day of Sukkot|Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Thursday, September 27| Fourth Day of Sukkot|Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Thursday, September 27| Mashíyyat|Baha'i| Special Worship
  • Friday, September 28| Fifth Day of Sukkot|Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Saturday, September 29| Sixth Day of Sukkot|Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Sunday, September 30|Seventh (last) Day of Sukkot|Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Sunday, September 30|Eve of Shmini Atzeret|Judaism| Special Worship*
OCTOBER
  • Monday, October 1| Shmini Atzeret| Judaism | Special Worship*
  • Monday, October 1| Eve of Simhat Torah| Judaism | Special Worship*
  • Tuesday, October 2| Simhat Torah| Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Friday, October 5|Bodhidharma Memorial| Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 7| World Communion Sunday| Christianity| Special Worship
  • Sunday, October 7| International Association of Scientologists | Scientology| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 9| Navaratri begins| Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Friday, October 12| Ghambar Ayathrem begins| Zarathushti| Special Worship
  • Saturday, October 13| Nichiren Shonin Memorial| Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 16| 'Ilm| Baha'i| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 16| Saraswati Puja| Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 16| Ghambar Ayathrem ends | Zarathushti| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, October 16| Aymbil Ori (Second Half) begins| Jainism| Food Restriction- Special Worship
  • Thursday, October 18| Navaratri ends| Hindusim| Special Worship
  • Friday, October 19 | Dassehra |Hinduism | Special Worship
  • Saturday, October 20|Installation of the Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji| Sikhism| Special Worship*
  • Wednesday, October 24 | Pavarana| Buddhism|Special Worship
  • Thursday, October 25|Kathina begins| Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Saturday, October 27| Karwa Chauth| Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Wednesday, October 31|Samhain| Wicca| Special Worship
MOVEMBER
  • Thursday, November 1| All Saints Day| Western Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, November 4| Qudrat| Baha'i | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, November 7| Diwali| Hinduism| Special Worship*
  • Wednesday, November 7|Mahavira Nirvana and Diwali| Jainism| Special Worship*
  • Wednesday, November 7| Bandi Chhor Divas| Sikhism| Special Worship*
  • Thursday, November 8| Vikram New Year| Hinduism| Special Worship
  • Thursday, November 8| Jain New Year and Day of Enlightenment| Jainism| Special Worship
  • Friday, November 9| Birth of the Báb| Baha'i| Special Worship
  • Saturday, November 10| Birth of Baháu'lláh| Baha'i| Special Worship*
  • Monday, November 12| Jnana Panchmi|Jainism| Special Worship
  • Thursday, November 15| Advent begins (Christmas Fast, Eastern Old Calendar)| Eastern Christianity| Special Worship
  • Tuesday, November 20| Mawlid al-Nabiy | Islam| Special Worship
  • Wednesday, November 21| Kathina ends| Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Friday, November 23|Qawl| Baha'i| Special Worship
  • Friday, November 23 | Chaturmas ends |Jainism | Special Worship
  • Friday, November 23 | Dev Diwali |Jainism | Special Worship
  • Friday, November 23 | Birth date of Shrimad Rajchandra|Jainism | Special Worship
  • Friday, November 23 |Birth date of Guru Nanak Dev Ji |Sikhism| Special Worship*
  • Saturday, November 24| Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji| Sikhism| Special Worship*
  • Monday, November 26 | Day of the Covenant |Baha'i | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, November 28| Advent begins (Christmas Fast, Eastern New Calendar) |Eastern Christianity | Special Worship
  • Wednesday, November 28| Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Bahá |Baha'i | Special Worship
DECEMBER
  • Sunday, December 2| First Sunday of Advent| Western Christianity | Special Worship
  • Sunday, December 2| Eve of Hanukkah (begins at sundown| Judaism| Special Worship
  • Monday, December 3| First Day of Hanukkah| Judaism| Special Worship*
  • Saturday, December 8| Awakening Day|Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Monday, December 10| Last Day of Hanukkah|Judaism| Special Worship
  • Wednesday, December 12| Masá'il| Baha'i| Special Worship
  • Wednesday, December 19| Maunajiyaras| Jainism| Special Worship
  • Friday, December 21|Tohji-taisai| Shinto| Special Worship
  • Friday, December 21| Yule| Wicca| Special Worship
  • Saturday, December 22| Sanghamitta Day| Buddhism| Special Worship
  • Monday, December 24| Christmas Eve|Christianity| Special Worship*
  • Tuesday, December 25| Christmas Day| Christianity| Special Worship*
  • Wednesday, December 26| Death of Prophet Zarathustra| Zarathushti| Special Worship*
  • Wednesday, December 26| Kwanzaa (until January 1| Kwanzaa| Special Worship
  • Monday, December 31 | Sharaf | Islam | Special Worship
  • Monday, December 31 | Ghambar Maidyarem begins| Zarathushti | Special Worship