Skip navigation

Renter's Rights

Renter's Rights

Renter's Rights in colorado 

It is vital to understand the lease you are signing as well as the rights you have as a renter in the state of Colorado. Not "knowing" your rights and responsibilities, as well as those of the landlord, will not excuse you from any violations of the leasing terms. Each apartment community or landlord has unique terms of agreement and it is your responsibility to know and understand them. This is where Housing & Residential Education can help!

Please use the following tips to better understand your rights:

Your Rights
Source: (Colorado Housing Connects, 2017)
1. Right to be treated fairly and equitably when applying to, living in, and vacating a residence.
2. Right to be given notice before a rental property owner/manager enters (except in cases of emergency). Typically 24 hours notice prior to entry
3. Right to a written notice from property manager prior to any changes to the cost of rent.
4. Right to the return of any unused security deposit collected within 30 days of vacating the property.
5. Right to written requests to a prompt response to repair requests.

Understanding these basic rights, IN ADDITION TO FULLY READING YOUR LEASE will help avoid leasing violations, extra fees, subleasing disagreements, and possible eviction.

If you have questions, you can call a Housing Navigator at the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to discuss the situation at: 1-844-926-6632

Additional documents (default the documents to those in your lease, but in case they are not included):
Move-in Checklists
Sublease Agreement Template

Programs and resources
University of Denver Sturm College of Law Civil Litigation Clinic
Colorado Legal Service
Department of Local Affairs
City & County of Denver HELP-Line

 

Please note:The University of Denver Housing & Residential Education Department does not give legal advice. This guide should not be used as a substitute for legal advice from a qualified professional. Updated: 3/28/2017