Competition Information

2019 Summer Camp Information Coming Soon!

Introducing the Denny Awards

As part of the first annual Denver International Electronic Music Festival, the Law Institute will host an international electronic music competition. Featuring the presentation of the annual Denny Awards, the competition will include three original music composition categories. In addition, several special recognition awards, the “Ikutaro Kakehashi Special Achievement Award”, will be awarded to honor the memory of the most notable engineer, inventor and “father” of modern electronic music. Please see the Competition Rules and Regulations for details of the competition.

  • When: 2 p.m. - 5 p.m., Feb. 17, 2018
  • Where: Hamilton Hall, Newman Center for the Performing Arts

A panel of scholars, composers and leaders in electronic music will serve as judges for the competition. They'll be announced late October 2018.


Competition Groups

  • Academics

    Electronic Music Only

    • MIDI and electronic music works that are integrated with audio technology
    • Less than 10 minutes duration



    Gold Medal Award

    • Wang Kun (Harbin Normal University)

    Silver Medal Award

    • Zhang Yunong (Communication University of China)
    • Zhang Bo (China Conservatory of Music) 

    Bronze Medal Award

    • Wang Peiyao (Communication University of China)
    • Anthony Sabatino (California, USA)
    • Xu Yufan (Xinghai Conservatory of Music)

    Honorable Mention

    • Deng Jiaming (Shanghai Conservatory of Music)
    • Zhao Xiaoxiang (Central Conservatory of Music)
    • Wang Peiyao (Communication University of China)
    • Chen Si (Beijing University of Posts and Communications)
  • b

    Electronic Music with Visuals

    • Multimedia video works (including film, games and advertisements) with electronic music
    • Visual arts used, such as videos and photos, must be original creations
    • Authorship by contestant must be clearly stated.
    • Less than 12 minutes duration



    Gold Medal Award

    • Zhang Wei (Xinjiang Arts University)

    Silver Medal Award

    • Zhao Haoliang (Central Conservatory of China)
    • Zhang Chao (Communication University of China)

    Bronze Medal Award

    • Jiang Yuemeng (Academy of Art University, San Francisco, USA)
    • Guo Jia (Hebei Institute of Communication)
    • Li Yunfei (University of North Carolina, Greensboro)

    Honorable Mention

    • Liang Yuman (Central Conservatory of Music)
    • Joao Pedro Oliveir (Spain)
    • Lin Yihan (Central Conservatory of Music)
    • Shi Yiyang (Central Conservatory of Music)
    • Nan Guoxian (Central Conservatory of Music)
  • C

    Electronic Music & Acoustic Instruments

    • Various combinations of electronic music with other electronic or traditional instruments permitted
    • Less than 12 minutes duration



    Gold Medal Award

    The gold medal award was not bestowed because the jury deemed that no submittals rose to necessary level of excellence and to the standard worthy of performance for audio and video reproduction at next year’s festival.

    Silver Medal Award

    • Fay Wang (Yale University, USA)
    • Liu Peixin (Central Conservatory of Music)

    Bronze Medal Award

    • Gao Tianyu (Shanghai Conservatory of Music)
    • Jiang Zheguangyi (Central Conservatory of Music)
    • Yang Kai (Tianjin Conservatory of Music)

    Honorable Mention

    • Chen Yilei (Central Conservatory of Music)
    • Zhao Ziyi (Shanghai Conservatory of Music)
    • Liu Juanhao (China)
    • Yuan Yadong (Shanghai Conservatory of Music)
    • Zach Bahn (USA)

Ikutaro Kakehashi Special Achievement Awards

These special achievement awards are presented to specially chosen recipients in order to commemorate the lifetime contribution of Ikutaro Kakehashi, the developer of the MIDI platform that serves as the indispensible foundation of electronic music.

The award recipient is chosen entirely at the discretion of the festival committee of the 2018 Denver International Electronic Music Festival.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Zhang Xiaofu (Composer & Educator): As the founding father for modern electronic music in China, he has single-handedly brought electronic music to its present level of importance in China for students and audience alike.

Best Technical Achievement

Arakawa Tsukasa (Audio Engineer) invented the “A-Frame”, a unique electroganic percussion instrument that may revolutionize percussion music for the future.

Best Achievement for Electronic Music Education

Cheng Jiantong (Educator) developed an unparalleled series of well-attended schools all over China for education of children in electronic music in short period of time in a manner that is unprecedented.

Best Rising Star of Electronic Music Performance

Tina Guo (Cellist): As a member of the Hans Zimmer on-tour Ensemble and as an independent solo performing artist, Tina Guo has exhibited performance capabilities that not only demonstrate her own virtuoso style and competence, but also the ability to appeal to audiences in a manner that best promotes the face of modern electronic music.