Skip navigation
Women's Conference

Women's Conference

Robin Morgan Award

Presented by WAND

Congratulations to the 2014 recipient Molly Hooker, Director of Graduate Student Services for Graduate Studies!

About the Award

Established in 2001, the Robin Morgan Award is awarded annually at the Women's Conference to a staff woman who has worked at DU for at least two years, and who exemplifies an advocacy for women and goes beyond her job responsibilities. She should promote and enhance the University community by addressing the concerns of women through her example and her work with other women.

The award is named for Robin Morgan, who worked at DU from 1996-1997, and organized staff women to foster their professional development and enhance the mission of the University through women's voices and competence. The Robin Morgan Award is intended for a woman who carries on these ideals.

About Robin Morgan

Robin Morgan—an award-winning poet, novelist, political theorist, feminist activist, journalist, editor and best-selling author—has published more than 20 books, including the now-classic anthology Sisterhood Is Powerful.

Founder and president of The Sisterhood is Global Institute, recent co-founder of, and co-founder of The Women's Media Center, she serves on the boards of many women's organizations in the United States and abroad.

In 1990, as editor-in-chief of Ms. magazine, Morgan re-launched the magazine as an international, award-winning, ad-free bimonthly, resigning in 1994 to become consulting global editor.

A recipient of the National Endowment for the Arts Prize (poetry) and numerous other honors, she lives in New York City.

Past Recipients

Molly Hooker (2014)

Theresa Hernandez (2013)

Georgette Kennebrae (2012)

Shelley Popke (2011)

Jacqueline Sene (2010)

Meg Steitz (2009)

Susan Rivera (2008)

Sarah Tonso (2006)

Jan Armani (2005)

Anita Johnson (2004)

Yasmaine Ford Faggan (2003)

Tracie Kruse (2002)

Ali Walton (2001)