Skip navigation
Anthropology

Anthropology 2013-2014

Faculty

Bonnie Clark
Associate Professor
PhD, University of California, Berkeley, 2003
Interests: archaeology, especially historic and protohistoric periods; cultural landscapes; gender, ethnicity and material culture; public anthropology; Western North America
bclark@du.edu, 303-871-2875

Richard Clemmer-Smith
Professor
Curator of Ethnology, University of Denver Museum of Anthropology
PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1972 Interests: ethnohistory, ethnology of the Southwest and Great Basin, cultural ecology, culture change
rclemmer@du.edu, 303-871-2679
Portfolio access: http://portfolio.du.edu/rclemmer

Lawrence Conyers
Professor
PhD, University of Colorado at Boulder, 1995
Interests: archaeology, archaeometry, geological methods, Latin America, plains, U.S. Southwest
lconyers@du.edu, 303-871-2684
Website: www.du.edu/~lconyer

Christina Kreps
Associate Professor
Director of museum studies; Director, University of Denver Museum of Anthropology
PhD, University of Oregon, 1994
Interests: anthropology of museums, art and cultural expression, politics of culture, development, Southeast Asia, Indonesia, Borneo
ckreps@du.edu, 303-871-2688

Dean Saitta
Professor and Chair
PhD, University of Massachusetts, 1987
Interests: archaeology, historical archaeology, biological anthropology, political economy, material culture, North America, U.S. Southwest
dsaitta@du.edu, 303-871-2680
Portfolio access: http://portfolio.du.edu/dsaitta

Maria Dores Girao da Cruz
Assistant Professor
PhD Binghamton University, State University of New York, 2003
Interests: archaeology, museum studies, ceramics, historical archaeology, Africa and the United States MDores.Cruz@du.edu, 303-871-2473

Ermitte St. Jacque
Lecturer, Postdoctoral Fellow
PhD, University of Florida 2009
Interests: Transnational Migration, African Diaspora, Gender; Spain and the Bahamas
Ermitte.saintjacques@du.edu

Other Faculty

Tracy Ehlers
Emeritus Professor
PhD, University of Colorado at Boulder, 1980
Interests: peasants, development, political economy, Guatemala, women and development
tehlers@du.edu, 303-871-2683

James LaVita
Professor, arts, humanities and social science
lavita@du.edu, 303-871-3304
Portfolio access: http://portfolio.du.edu/lavita

Sarah Nelson
John Evans research Professor, Emeritus Professor Curator of archaeology, University of Denver Museum of Anthropology
PhD, University of Michigan, 1973
Interests: archaeology of East Asia, especially origins of agriculture and complex societies, statistical methods, gender stratification
snelson@du.edu, 303-871-2682