Academic Program/Unit Assessment Task Force

Charge: This task force will utilize institutional data sets to investigate academic program/unit strength and viability. (An academic program/unit is defined to be any program or unit within the division of academic affairs.) This group will seek to identify strong programs that might be leveraged to strengthen other areas of the University as well as weak programs in need of interventions, support or discontinuance. The task force will take on the hard work now to be prepared for the worst-case scenarios in an unforeseeable future.


  • Financial and Market Analysis
  • Student Outcomes
  • Faculty Performance


The Academic Assessment Taskforce has now met twice. The focus of the first meeting was dedicated to open discussion and brainstorming of evaluation metrics that covered financial, student success, faculty productivity, and market/reputation. The second meeting reviewed the metric list proposed, brought in evaluation information from EAB on best practices used around higher education, provided access to the task force members to currently built data dashboards and discussed updating the institutional peer set based on criteria. The committee has decided that additional optional meetings will be set up to educate committee members on the methodologies and terminology used to describe our institutional data sets.


  • Corinne Lengsfeld

    Senior vice provost for research and graduate education



  • Conrad Ciccotello

    Professor and director of Reiman School of Finance, Daniels College of Business

  • Roberto Corrada

    Professor and Mulligan Burleson Chair in Modern Learning, Sturm College of Law

  • Chris Coleman

    Professor of emergent digital practices, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Rachel Epstein

    Professor and associate dean of faculty studies, Josef Korbel School of International Studies

  • Ryan Gildersleeve

    Associate dean and professor of higher education, Morgridge College of Education

  • Michele Hanna

    Associate professor, Graduate School of Social Work

  • Lynett Henderson Metzger

    Clinical associate professor, Graduate School of Professional Psychology

  • Jennifer Karas

    Vice provost for academic affairs

  • Andrei Kutateladze

    Dean and professor of chemistry and biochemistry, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

  • Peter Laz

    Professor in mechanical and materials engineering, Ritchie School of Engineering and Computer Science

  • Danny McIntosh

    Dean, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Keith Miller

    Interim associate provost of graduate education, associate professor of chemistry, and director of University Honors Program

  • Tricia Olsen

    Associate dean and associate professor, Daniels College of Business

  • Sarah Pessin

    Professor of philosophy and interfaith chair, department of philosophy and Center for Judaic Studies; College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Dean Saitta

    Director, urban studies; professor of anthropology, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Jonathan Sciarcon

    Associate professor of Jewish history; College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Shelly Smith-Acuña

    Dean, Graduate School of Professional Psychology

  • Andrew Thomas

    Analyst, Office of Graduate Education

  • Staff support: Therese Mashak

    Executive assistant, Office of the Provost

Timeframe: This group will complete its work and recommendations by August 15.