Comprised of approximately 40 staff senators, the DU Staff Senate serves staff employees and the University by advocating for improved staff experiences and attention. We work closely with DU's division of Human Resources & Inclusive Community, the DU Faculty Senate, Undergraduate Student Government, and Graduate Student Government.


The Staff Senate's precursor organization, the DU Staff Advisory Council, was established in 1978 by the University's Vice Chancellor for Business & Financial Affairs. The Staff Advisory Council was superseded by the Staff Senate in October 2023 when University administration and SAC representatives agreed on a new set of bylaws and relationships with the University. The new Staff Senate officially began business on January 1, 2024.


Staff Senate has the following standing committees, which perform the majority of the group's work on policy involvement and advocacy action:

Executive Committee
Dr. Noelle Strom, President
Ross Logan, Vice President
Linda Newman, Treasurer
Jennifer Beach Anderson, Secretary

Communications Committee
Chair (vacant)*

Elections Committee
Chair (vacant)*

Events & Engagement Committee
Chair (vacant)*

University Budget, Advocacy, & Policy Committee
​​Chair (vacant)*

* Vacancies as of October 2023 reflect the transitionary period between Staff Advisory Council and Staff Senate while elections for the new Senate are taking place.

From time to time, additional ad hoc committees are formed to address specific topics or issues.


Primarily self-governing, the Staff Senate adheres to the following documents:


You can reach the Staff Senate at staffsenate@du.edu or by directly contacting one of the individuals listed above.