Skip navigation
Staff Advisory Council meeting spot, the Mary Reed Building

Staff Advisory Council

Staff Awards

Nominations for the 2020 Staff Awards are open!  Please see the award descriptions and nomination forms below.

  1. Nominations must be for a regular full-time or part-time appointed staff employee. The employee must have at least one year (12 months) of appointed service at the University of Denver (faculty, Deans and students are not eligible).
  2. Any University of Denver staff member, faculty member, student or alumni may make nominations. Anonymous entries are not accepted.
  3. A panel of staff members established by the Staff Advisory Council will select winners.
  4. Recipients are not eligible for the same award in consecutive years.
  5. Senior staff are ineligible.


These prestigious awards are not to be given lightly. When making your nominations, please look for a person who or a department that has gone above and beyond for the University.


The highest honor presented each year is the Outstanding Service Award, which will recognize a person who exemplifies the mission of the University of Denver.

âWhen nominating a staff person for this award, please give examples of:

  • How this person has fostered and promoted collaboration and cooperation on the DU campus.
  • How has this staff member demonstrated dedication to the vision, mission, values, and goals of the University in their interactions with others?
  • How have they represented and promoted their department within the campus?
  • Have they taken on an ambitious or unpopular project for the good of the campus?

Submit a Nomination for the Outstanding Service Award NOW


This award is designed to honor the staff of a DU department for outstanding quality service to the DU community.

When nominating a department (other than your own) for this award, please give examples of:

  • How they have promoted quality service through open communication, creativity, ethical behavior, integrity, caring and close individual attention.
  • How they have gone beyond their established duties to foster quality service affecting not only their department but also students, faculty, other departments on campus and/or the surrounding community?

Submit a Nomination for the Quality Department Award NOW


This civic engagement award is designed to give recognition to an employee who displays outstanding commitment to and support of the University. This can be exemplified by participation in volunteer activities within the University, staff members who are on committees to improve campus life for students, faculty and staff, and/or those who are always available to help with campus activities that are not part of their daily jobs.

The winner of this award should be a standard for others at DU to uphold. When nominating a person for this award, please give examples of their committee or volunteer work and how they promote the values of DU.

Submit a Nomination for the Crimson and Gold Award NOW


One of the University’s values is innovation. This award is given to a University of Denver staff member who has demonstrated creativity and innovation in their work that advances the University's Strategic Plan. The University of Denver is a community of creative, imaginative and forward thinking people and we want to recognize that!  The winner of this award will possess a desire to evolve practices, processes and programs to better meet the needs of our ever-changing community—an innovator who routinely thinks beyond the bounds of tradition.  This award will recognize a staff member who has looked beyond what we do now to harness new and exciting ways of engaging our community and/or providing services to our constituents.

Please consider nominating a colleague who has inspired you, please give examples of:

  • How the person in our community represents our value of innovation?
  • Has the person developed and implemented a cutting edge program, or encouraged others to think outside the box?

Submit a Nomination for the Staff Innovator Award NOW

See past award winners.