Skip navigation

Conflict Resolution Institute

CRI News & Events

Third Annual Gala

Awards and Speakers

CRI hosted its third annual Gala on Apring 28, 2007, on an unusually warm spring evening in the elegant Gottesfeld Room in the Ritchie Center on the University of Denver campus. Attendees at the event included CRI Advisory Board members, faculty, visiting scholars, staff, current students, alumni, and community supporters.

The program opened with greetings fro the CRI's two international projects: Ms. Karene-Anne Nathaniel, visiting scholar from the University of the West Indies, Trinidad and Tobago, welcomed Gala guests, followed a video welcome from Professor Guguli Magradze from the Tbilisi State University, republic of Georgia.

The after dinner program began with recognition and acknowledgements of the Institute faculty, Advisory Board members, staff and recent graduates. Three awards were also presented: the third annual "Best Thesis" award presented by CRI for the best thesis completed in 2006, and the two recognition awards to outstanding students from the student organization CRGSA. The evening ended with a compelling presentation,  Making Peace with Islam by featured speaker, Professor Abdul Aziz Said.

Abdul Aziz Said is founder, current director, and professor of the American University's Center for Global Peace which undertakes a range of activities aimed at advancing understanding of world peace. Dr. Said is the senior ranking professor of international relations and the first occupant of the Chair of Islamic Peace.

The Best Thesis award, and its accompanying monetary prize of $500, was presented to Ariana Harrier by the first recipient of the award, Patricia Whitehouse. Ariana's thesis is entitled "Dialogue as Community Transformation: Possibilities and Limitations".

CRI's Conflict Resolution Graduation Student Associations (CRGSA), selects two students each year who exemplify the organization's goals and integrating the experiences of master's students with faculty, the university, the larger community and with each other. This year's recipients of the CRGSA Award was Mikaela Ladwig-Williams, past President of CRGSA. CRGSA chose Cathy Peterman to receive this year's SCORE Award for Student Excellence. Mikaela and Cathy will each receive a one year membership to the Association for Conflict Resolution - the national organizations for conflict resolution - courtesy of the student group.


- T. Thompson