Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Steering Committee

Impact Area: Give DEI power, authority, and accountability

View the DEI Action Plan for 2020-2021

Establish a diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) steering committee that includes the chancellor, provost, and unit-level DEI leadership.

Action Item Details

A new university-wide committee will be formed and chaired by the vice chancellor of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Its membership would include the chancellor, the provost and executive vice chancellor, the Director of Equal Opportunity and Title IX, and the chairs of each unit, center or institute’s DEI team and/or the administrator from that unit responsible for DEI work. The purpose of this action item is to provide a centrally connected structure to share, report, learn, and engage on common issues, concerns, policies, and procedures. It also provides an opportunity for meaningful student and alumni engagement in the everyday practice of diversity, equity, and inclusion at the institution. 

The DEI Steering Committee will be constituted by January 2021 and will meet quarterly thereafter. As one of its initial tasks, it will work to create the following working groups where participants will be solicited from all parts of the university:

  • Faculty and Staff Affinity Groups
  • Graduate Student Research Team
  • Institutional Research
  • DEI Programmers
  • Student Advisory Council
  • Marketing and Communications
  • Advancement
  • Community Engagement



Office of the Chancellor

The Chancellor's Cabinet

Office of the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor

University Deans

Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion