Champions of Change Awards

Celebrating DU Changemakers

This year, the Diversity Summit will join forces with the Sustainability Summit linking social justice and sustainability efforts. Sessions will demonstrate the vital links between social justice and sustainable practices and movements, under the theme Peace, Justice & Inclusive Communities. The theme was derived from the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Supporting this theme, the Summit will focus on two key areas: Reduced Inequalities and Sustainable Communities and where these two areas intersect.

Through the Champions of Change Awards, the Diversity Summit Committee recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of our employees and students. The Awards applaud those who contribute to diversity, racial and other social justice efforts that support an inclusive community. We also recognize there are Champions among us who take their work beyond the bounds of the University campus. These values of our Champions of Change are seen through exemplary leadership and action to reducing inequities.

Makia Jones Outstanding Undergraduate Student

Award winners will have done one or more of the following:

  1. Develop and maintain highly relevant programming and/or policies and support for advancing inclusiveness, racial and other social justice efforts throughout the University of Denver campus
  2. Coordinate and/or support ongoing efforts related to reducing inequities at DU in an individual's spheres of influence
  3. Create a welcoming and inclusive university environment (climate) through training, curriculum reform and delivery, and/or research/creative activity
  4. Have a positive impact on recruitment, retention, and graduation of a diverse student body and/or promotion of a diverse workforce at all levels.
  5. Develop and maintain consistent accountability measures in order to accurately assess progress toward institutionalizing inclusion, equity and diversity.
  6. Engage in meaningful efforts to connect inclusion and sustainability work to effect positive change related to racial and other social inequities impacting members of our DU community.

Please contact if you have specific questions.

background image

Nominate your champion.

Please submit nominations by January 2nd, 2018 by 5:00pm.

Submit your nomination

Past Honorees

  • 2018 Honorees

    To be announced today!

  • 2017 Honorees

    Undergraduate Student: Makia Jones
    Graduate Student: Carolyn Coles
    Faculty Advocate: Dr. Armond Towns
    Staff: Deana Ahmad
    Administrator: Dr. Frank Tuitt

    Unit Advocate: Graduate School of Social Work

  • 2016 Honorees

    Undergraduate Student: Sara Yafe
    Graduate Student: Keelie Sorel
    Faculty Advocate: Lindsey Feitz
    Staff: Ryan Hanschen
    Administrator: Nancy Sasaki

  • 2015 Honorees

    Undergraduate Student: Brooke Baxa
    Graduate Student: Sergio Juarez, Communication Studies
    Faculty Advocate: Roberto Corrada, Sturm College of Law
    Staff: Karen Escobar, Natural Sciences & Mathematics
    Administrator: Dr Shelley Smith-Acuna, Graduate School of Professional Psychology

  • 2014 Honorees

    Undergraduate Student: Alejandro Garcia, Undergraduate Student Government
    Graduate Student: Leslie Rossman, Communication Studies, Graduate Student Government
    Faculty Advocate: Dr Bernadette Calafell, Communication Studies
    Staff: Nashwa Bolling, Undergraduate Admission
    Administrator: Dr Barbara Wilcots, Asc Provost for Graduate Studies, and English faculty
    special award for Institutional Leadership: Dr Robert Coombe, Chancellor

  • 2013 Honorees

    Undergraduate Student: Marin Klostermeier
    Graduate Student: Sujie Kim, Morgridge College of Education
    Faculty: Dr Hava Gordon, Sociology and Criminology, and Gender & Women's Studies
    Staff: Kristin Olson, Office of Student Conduct, Student Life
    special award for Alumni Achievement: Dr William Cross