Skip to Content

Denver Hockey Wins Record-Breaking 10th National Championship

Back to News Listing


Jordyn Reiland


Jordyn Reiland writer

News  •
Athletics  •

Goalie Matt Davis and the University of Denver hockey team shut out Boston College 2-0 to win their 10th national title—becoming the first program to reach the milestone.

DU players celebrating

Denver broke their tie with the University of Michigan (nine) and became the first team to win 10 NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey National Championships. North Dakota currently has eight, Wisconsin has six, Boston College, Boston University and Minnesota are tied with five each.

Join us at 6:30 p.m. tonight at Magness Arena for the 2024 Denver Hockey National Championship Celebration for the chance to take a picture with Denver's trophies from the 2023-24 season and get autographs from the team. The first 1,500 fans on Monday will receive a commemorative championship poster. 
Doors open at 6 p.m. and the event will be livestreamed at

Ceremonial puck drop
The University of Denver hockey program defeated Boston College 2-0 for the program's record-breaking 10th NCAA Championship on Saturday at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn. Senior captain McKade Webster (left) and his sister Makenna now each have two national titles during their respective college hockey careers. Makenna won her second title this season with Ohio State University. 


DU players lined up pregame
The senior class is among the winningest group in school history with 102 victories in 148 career games. 
Goalie Matt Davis from behind
NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player and Goalie Matt Davis made his 26th consecutive start on Saturday evening and made 23 third-period saves in his third shutout of the season. Davis finished the NCAA Tournament with 138 saves and just three goals allowed. Boston College was shut out for the first time since March 11, 2023, where they lost 1-0 against Merrimack. Prior to this game Boston College had outscored NCAA Tournament opponents 29-8. 
Coach David Carle getting Gatorade dumped on him
Head Coach David Carle, who is in his sixth season with the team, has won two national championships (2022 and 2024) during his tenure. Carle and Zeev Buium won gold with the U.S. National Junior Team back in January.  
DU players celebrating a goal
Jared Wright scored the first goal for DU off of a pass from Rieger Lorenz that ricocheted off the near post, bounced off Boston College goaltender Jacob Fowler's back above the bar and went into the net with 10:18 left in the second period. DU outscored their opponents 82-39 in the second period this season. 
DU play celebrating
Rieger Lorenz scored the second goal to make it 2-0 off of a pass from Zeev Buium. On that goal, Lorenz became the 10th Denver player with at least 30 points this season. The Pioneers have won at least 30 games in three consecutive seasons. 
DU celebrating
DU finished the season on a nine-game win streak.

Photos courtesy of NCAA Photos via Getty Images.

Related Articles