Skip to Content

Honorees Announced for Korbel Dinner

Back to Article Listing


Jon Stone

Media Relations Manager

Jon Stone

Vice President Joe Biden will deliver keynote address


Carrie and John Morgridge, along with Kent Thiry of DaVita, will be honored at the University of Denver’s Korbel Dinner. The 19th annual dinner will take place on Thursday, Sept. 15, at the Ritchie Center on the DU campus.

Carrie and John Morgridge

Carrie and John Morgridge of the Morgridge Family Foundation will be presented with the Josef Korbel School’s Humanitarian Award. This honor is presented to individuals for their longstanding philanthropic commitment to global issues of education, health and wellness, poverty and the arts. Previous honorees include philanthropists Anna and John J. Sie, Robert and Judi Newman, and Grant Wilkins, past director of Rotary International.

Kent Thiry

Kent Thiry, chairman and CEO of DaVita, will receive the University’s International Bridge Builders Award. This honor recognizes a local community member for achievements in building ties between Colorado and the international community. Previous honorees include: Jacqueline Hinman, chairman and CEO of CH2M; Jeffrey Tarr, CEO and president of DigitalGlobe; and Michael Long, president and CEO of Arrow Electronics.

Joe Biden

Vice President Joe Biden will deliver the keynote address at the dinner. More than 750 people are expected to attend. 

The Korbel Dinner serves as an opportunity to honor individuals whose leadership and commitment embody the goals established by the school’s founder, Josef Korbel. The dinner also benefits the school’s programs, scholarships and centers, which are designed to serve students and the community at large.


Members of the media are invited to attend. To RSVP, click here.